FIXED Jenn-air SVD48600B not heating up - error code F5

Stevesul

Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Western NY
Model Number
SVD48600B
Brand
Jenn-Air
Age
More than 10 years
Hi I am having issues with our Jenn Air model SVD48600B

The oven or broiler does not heat up… just stays at 100 degrees. I try all modes- broil, convection bake, etc. and the same result occurs. With convection, the fans turn on ok but the oven does not heat up. Only other thing I notice is it makes a bit of a high pitched sound when I try to preheat…but that might be normal.

Since it was an issue with the oven and broiler, I assumed it wasn’t the elements both going bad at the same time. I also replaced the oven element about 5 years ago…and in that case, the oven heated but very slowly. Plus the oven doesn't get that much use for replacement this quick.

My wife got an error code a few weeks ago…she thinks it was F5. I can’t reproduce the code though to verify even after turning off the breaker. I pulled out the temp sensor and it read 1.083 on the multimeter so I assume that is ok.

I read some info online (I just found this site today) and it seemed that the ERC is a common issue with these stoves. I ordered one and the same exact thing occurs. The oven stays at 100 degrees...the fans and buttons all work just like my old one. The replacement ERC clock was dimmer so I just put my old one back in.

Is there a way for me to force the error code to come back up? I thought by removing power to it, it would reset and I could get the Fault code to come back up.

Any other checks I can do? Could it be the Relay Board?

Thank you,
Steve
 
Last edited:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,088
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I pulled out the temp sensor and it read 1.083 on the multimeter so I assume that is ok.
The oven sensor should read 1.1K ohms or 1100 ohms at room temperature. A faulty or intermittent sensor could result in an F5 error code.
 

Stevesul

Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Western NY
The oven sensor should read 1.1K ohms or 1100 ohms at room temperature. A faulty or intermittent sensor could result in an F5 error code.

Thanks for the reply! Sorry, meant 1.083K at normal temperature. It stays steady at 1.083K and 1.082K.... could it still be faulty?

Thanks
Steve
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,088
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
OK, Test mode can be accessed by holding the STOP key down at power up or by holding the STOP key down for 10 seconds within five minutes of power up mode. If any other key is pressed before the stop key it will block entrance to the test mode. Once in test mode each time a key is pressed it tests that circuit and relays and a tone will sound.
 

Stevesul

Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Western NY
OK, Test mode can be accessed by holding the STOP key down at power up or by holding the STOP key down for 10 seconds within five minutes of power up mode. If any other key is pressed before the stop key it will block entrance to the test mode. Once in test mode each time a key is pressed it tests that circuit and relays and a tone will sound.
Thanks for the info on test mode!

I just did that and got an F3. Fan is blowing too. Then I realized I didnt put the temp sensor back in.

So I cut power and reconnected the temp sensor, turned on power and went into test mode. After about six seconds of holding stop, I see all lines. Here I d tried pressing buttons and I heard tones. Is this just to test all the buttons to make sure they work?

After trying some buttons...I pressed stop again I see on the readout 1731 722

The 1731 is in the clock position and the 722 is the temperature.

I am not sure I am doing this correctly. Let me know if I should do some sort of key combination to try to force a fault code.

Many thanks
Steve
 
Last edited:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,088
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Test mode is performed by pushing a keypad and testing for an output response. When the keypad is released the output is terminated and the display will return to the “-“ display. Test mode will self-terminate within16 seconds of the last key press or if the CANCEL button is pressed. In test mode “COOK TIME” key activates any fault codes stored in memory. The “time” digits display any fault codes for the membrane and control board. The “temperature” digits display any fault codes for the power relay board.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,088
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States

Stevesul

Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Western NY
I checked all the connections but still got the fault. I replaced the power relay board last night and the fault is gone. Oven, broiler, etc. all work again. I was surprised there were 21 connections that went into it.

It looked like a capacitor was leaking on the old one.

Many thanks for your help.
Steve
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,088
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I've had to replace a few of these boards already. Good to hear you have a working range!
 

garthbf

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
5
Location
washington state
I have the SVD48600P. it is giving an F5 sometimes. and the first issue was the broiler did not work. then yesterday the convection fan was coming on an off and then the F5 showed. Do I need this Relay Board? also how do I replace it?
thanks,
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,774
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

OK, F5 error is power to the element relays was disabled/interrupted. Disconnect power to the range, Check for any loose wire connections on the power board. Check for any pinched or broken wires. Check the oven sensor connector on the board. Check the oven sensor with a multimeter.

At room temperature the oven sensor should measure about 1100 ohms.

Here's the oven sensor for your model:
Temperature Sensor 12001656


[video=youtube_share;vWJOLFW2aw0]https://youtu.be/vWJOLFW2aw0[/video]

Let us know what you find.

If your oven sensor ohm tests good, then its your relay board you will need to replace. You need this relay board: Board, Relay W/shield

But its no longer Available for your model.

Pull your range out from the wall, then unplug it. Its located in the very back of your range, behind the back access panel.

You oven sensor connector is in the very back of your range too, just disconnect it and ohm test it, make sure you keep the range unplugged when ohm testing it.

Jake
 
Top