• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Kenmore 70 series

cindylou

Premium Member
imported post

When removing a load from the dryer, I noticed the dryer sheet was filled with a black like soot substance. The vent inside the dryer where the heat comes out had burn stains around it. After removing the rear panel and outlet hose to be sure there was no lint or debris, I held held open the door and held down the switch so that when I press the start button the dryer would operate with the door open (temporarily and with fire extinguisher by my side). Inside the heating vent the coils gave off a very red glow...lots of heat. Is this normal? I'm not very technical but I was so stressed at the idea that a fire could have started while my kids and I were sleeping as I was just getting ready to start my last load in the dryer.

I called Sears and they said there were no recalls listed on this dryer...it's model #11060712990, MK3448372. They offered a service that for $169, I could have a service call, the item repaired (part price included), one year warranty and if there was still a problem after that that they would give me $500 toward a new dryer. Is this for real? If so I will take the offer but I told them that I was concerned about others who may have experienced the same thing and that it is something that should be looked into for recall. No one has called me back on it to get more information. Is this normal?

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
imported post

cindylou wrote:
I held held open the door and held down the switch so that when I press the start button the dryer would operate with the door open. Inside the heating vent the coils gave off a very red glow...lots of heat. Is this normal?