Kenmore Elite model 795.74093.410 fans not running

Woody9966

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Purchased in 2015 and practically new as it was my mother’s and all she had in it was a 12 pack of cokes. It was kept in the garage utility room. It did get hot in there in the summer.
I now have this and everything works when I put it in test mode. When test mode ends the fans in the unit shut off. The compressor continually runs and it’s cold in the upper and lower but not cold enough to freeze a cup of water in the freezer. I’m at a loss as to what is going on here. Any help please. I hate to get rid of this as it was near 4 thousand dollars new. Since I moved it Sears stated they wouldn’t honor any warranty. It has to be on her property which is ridiculous. Anyway.... any help please. I’m a novice so please be patient with me.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi Woody,

Pull the refrigerator out from the wall, then remove the lower back access panel then feel the compressor to see how hot it is, also see if the condenser fan motor is running, it mounts next to the compressor.

These 795 Kenmore models made by LG have had a huge compressor failure rate, and the first sign is not cold enough to freeze a cup of water in the freezer.

Jake

Woody9966

Premium Member
Thank you Jake for responding.
With a laser temp gauge....The compressor is at 112 degrees F. I did some reading and saw where the demo mode was cycled on then off and mysteriously the refrigerators that was done to began working. Well..... it’s now freezing a cup of water. Not entirely solid but I’ve only had it on for 10 hours now. Laser shot 52 in fridge and 27 in freezer. The fan is running too.
This makes me leery to trust it with spoilable food. Should I try and add freon?
I bought manifold gauges but don’t know what numbers to expect on low or high or if the unit should be on when I connect it.