• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Kenmore Refrigerator 106.55242400 Condenser Fan Motor

RepairHelp2121

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Hello all!

I've got a Kenmore 106.55242400 refrigerator that has a condenser fan motor that won't stay running. I noticed the front of the fridge, where the door seals, gets really hot. I checked the back and the fan isn't spinning. If I manually turn it, it will start to spin but I guess it doesn't start back up the next time the condenser runs.

I've purchased what I thought was a replacement but the wiring confuses me (I'm a complete novice.)

The original fan motor has 4 wires connected to the motor with a molex connection - 2 white and 2 red.
* 2 white and 1 red go to the condenser it looks like
* 1 red goes to another connection

The replacement motor I bought only has two black wires. I'm just not sure if I bought the wrong part of I'm just too inexperiences to understand how to wire it up. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!!!

Replacement Motor
20210613_111031.jpg

Original motor. I think model 5KSM51AG (GE branded)
20210613_110652.jpg

Connection on back of original motor
20210613_110007.jpg

1 red wire from original motor goes here (right most red wire)

20210613_110216_HDR.jpg
The other red wire and two white wires from the original motor look to go here
20210613_110042_HDR.jpg

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Here's the correct part for your machine:
whirlpool-condenser-motor-kit-w10124096-ap4318657_01_l.jpg

RepairHelp2121

Premium Member