• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Kitchenaid Dishwasher KDTM404KPS not draining error code 9 - 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TCofPA

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Pennsylvania
Model Number
KDTM404KPS
Brand
KitchenAid
Age
1-5 years
I have a 22 month old KDTM404KPS Dishwasher that displays a blinking error code 9 pause 1 pause. According to the tech sheet it means product not draining, cycle ends. Opening the door there is water standing in the bottom of the dishwasher. I press the cancel drain button but the unit does drain. After I let it sit for a while I press the cancel/drain button and the dishwasher drains completely with a good stream of water going into the garbage disposal. I have done the following to troubleshoot and correct this but the problem is not fixed......

I have ran it in diagnostic mode and get the same 9-1 error during the test cycle, did not drain. Again water won't drain from dishwasher when pressing cancel/drain. I let it sit for a while and press cancel/drain and the water drains fine.
I cleared the error history
I have left the unit disconnected from the power overnight to clear the error
I have run it using express wash with no soap and the no dishes and it will drain two times with no issue but fails on the third time
I removed/re-installed the drain hose, no blockage
I removed/re-installed and cleaned the filter located under the washer at the pump motor. I did remove some dog hair and usual drain debris from along the filter scrapper. It was not completely blocked
I removed/re-installed the control board. No sign of any burnt components

Not sure what to try next to fix it. Any thoughts on the cause.

Thanks
TC
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,545
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Hi TC,

Sounds like the drain pump is bad, or still clogged, you took apart the drain pump completely and cleaned the impeller out? Dog hair may still be wrapped around the drain pump motor impeller, causing it to overheat and not run after first two drain cycles.

Yes, F9E1--->Draining: Product Not Draining

Here's the drain pump for your model: W11412291

On this model you have to remove the entire dishwasher to get access to the drain pump.

This video shows you how: https://cdnapisec.kaltura.com/index...id/37942631/entry_id/1_r13dks86/embed/dynamic

Jake
 

TCofPA

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Pennsylvania
I had the pump out when I cleaned the filter. I visually checked that there was nothing around the impeller. I did not take the pump apart. So are you saying the pump will not operate if overheated? Is that why if I let is sit for a while and press the cancel/drain it pumps the water with no problem?

Any possibility it's a control board issue? I attached some photos of the filter cleaning I did. As you can see I did take the filter assembly completely apart.

You can see the drain pump motor off to the side but the impeller is not visible. Thoughts?
 

Attachments

  • filter1.jpg
    filter1.jpg
    276.9 KB · Views: 163
  • filter2.jpg
    filter2.jpg
    351.4 KB · Views: 168
  • filter3.jpg
    filter3.jpg
    297.5 KB · Views: 164
  • filter4.jpg
    filter4.jpg
    265.7 KB · Views: 168
  • filter5.jpg
    filter5.jpg
    284.2 KB · Views: 169

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,545
Location
Redmond, Oregon
So are you saying the pump will not operate if overheated? Is that why if I let is sit for a while and press the cancel/drain it pumps the water with no problem?
Yes, exactly.

Any possibility it's a control board issue?
No, because if the board was the problem it would not drain at all period.

You can see the drain pump motor off to the side but the impeller is not visible. Thoughts?
This is a newer style drain pump that I have not worked on as of yet, so I don't know either why you can't get access to the impeller, on the previous drain pumps you could.

I really don't have a clue on this one, sorry. Hopefully another tech. that works on these newer style drain pumps can shed some light on that.

Jake
 

TCofPA

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Pennsylvania
So there is no misunderstanding when I wrote "You can see the drain pump motor off to the side but the impeller is not visible. " I was referring to it not being visible in the photo. On the pump the impeller is visible. Thanks Jake I'll replace the pump and update the thread with the results.

TC
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,545
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok got it TC! Thanks for clarifying that.:)

Yes, I agree that the new drain pump should fix it.

Let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

TCofPA

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Pennsylvania
Jake your diagnosis was correct. I installed the new drain pump and ran three complete cycles with no issues. The pump showed no sign of debris or being defective when I removed it. I attached two photos of the pump so you can see what it looks like for future reference. I noticed on the label it says 5min on/40 min off. Is that the time delay it if overheats?

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
TC
 

Attachments

  • Pump1.jpg
    Pump1.jpg
    493.4 KB · Views: 149
  • Pump2.jpg
    Pump2.jpg
    639.2 KB · Views: 148

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,545
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Excellent TC, glad to hear the new drain pump fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

I noticed on the label it says 5min on/40 min off. Is that the time delay it if overheats?
That I don't know TC. Probably so.

Jake
 

NovaDIY

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2022
Messages
1
Location
Fairfax VA
This thread is super helpful. Thanks to you both for documenting the problem and having links to the parts.

Out of curiosity, TC, did you have all the Sharkbite hose clamp equipment? Or what did you use to remove and put everything back? I wanted to clear out the components but don’t have these specific tools.
 

TCofPA

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Pennsylvania
I used a flat head screwdriver and vice grip to remove the shark bit hose clamps. I replaced them with common adjustable hose clamps from Home Depot
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top