• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Kitchenaid ice maker problem

Monju123

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Texas
My Kitchenaid side by side, Mdl. # KSRJ25CNST00, icemaker died. Several months ago, the filler tube froze. I thawed and it has worked fine up until a week ago. Now, no ice. I have 35 volts AC at the wiring harness that connects to the ice maker. The LED glows solid red. Jumping T & H will cause the arm to cycle. Sometimes the tray fills with water, sometimes not. Any ideas?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
111,029
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

I'd first make sure your water pressure to your refrigerator is strong. Does the water dispenser in the front have a good strong stream when you fill a glass of water? Does it fill fast?

If so then it sounds like your water inlet valve in the back of your refrigerator may be going bad.

Here's the one for your model in case you need to order it:
<a href="http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=YO6223WzStY&offerid=142421.532217890&type=10&subid=">Manufacturer's Number: 4389177
</a><img alt="icon" width="1" height="1" src="http://ad.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/show?id=YO6223WzStY&bids=142421.532217890&type=10&subid="><a href="http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=YO6223WzStY&offerid=142421.532217890&type=10&subid=">
<img alt="icon" border="0" src="http://www.appliancepartspros.com/PartImage.aspx?imgid=Z3BqLjBfbXNfNzcxOTgzNC9MUFcvc290b2hwdHJhcC8%3d"></a><img alt="icon" width="1" height="1" src="http://ad.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/show?id=YO6223WzStY&bids=142421.532217890&type=10&subid=">4389177

Jake
 

Monju123

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Texas
I have good pressure at the cold water outlet and my solenoid is a double valve. Is the 35v a problem?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
111,029
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok,

Ohm the in-line thermal fuse, its located on the wiring harness to the ice maker. If that in-line thermal fuse is open, then we found the problem.

It comes integrated with the ice maker wire harness, in case you need to order it:
Manufacturer part#2187467 is RepairClinic item#908660


Its the black wire, ohm that black wire for continuity.

Jake
 

Monju123

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Texas
I had already checked for continuity and it was fine.
Heres the latest. I reassembled everything and it ran fine all night long. It filled an empty hopper. My only guess was the connection from the harness out of the wall to the IM was spotty. It wouldn't surprise me if it dies again, but for now, I'm a hero in the house.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
111,029
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, sounds good.:)

Its extremely difficult to diagnose an intermittent problem. But seeing you were getting only 35 volts at the wiring harness to the ice maker is usually a blown thermal fuse or a spotty harness connection like you mentioned.

If it keeps acting up on you then I'd replace that wire harness I posted a link to above.

Jake
 
Top