• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Kitchenaid KRFC704FPS01 refrigerator not making ice

rtclay

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2022
Messages
8
Location
New Orleans
Model Number
KRFC704FPS01
Brand
KitchenAid
Age
1-5 years
My Kitchenaid KRFC704FPS01 refrigerator stopped making ice. I put the unit in diagnostics and the following are the results:
Test 16: door ice maker tray thermistor - 25
Test 59: ice box fan - fan comes on
Test 79: ice bin switch state - 01 (present)
Test 97: door I’ve maker valve - water dispenses
Test 120: door ice maker self diagnostics - PA
The ice maker does not fill the tray or harvest by itself. I was able to make a tray of ice manually by filling the tray and manually harvesting. I can’t seem to figure out how to get the ice maker to produce by itself.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, I located more threads that deal with this problem. It sounds like the Fill Tube is the problem:

Here's the Fill Tube with Heater Kit for your model: W11366500

Here's the ice maker for your model: W11557001

Look at these threads from the other members that had this problem too:

I posted that service bulletin in post #2 of this thread: https://www.applianceblog.com/mainf...rator-water-not-flowing-into-ice-maker.81748/

Jake
 

rtclay

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2022
Messages
8
Location
New Orleans
Thanks Jake,
But I don’t think either of these are my issue. The unit dispenses water into the ice tray, however the fan from the freezer compartment to the door ice maker will not come on unless I manually turn this fan on through diagnostics.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
The ice maker does not fill the tray or harvest by itself. I was able to make a tray of ice manually by filling the tray and manually harvesting.
I thought you meant you manually filled the ice maker tray with water you poured in the tray yourself?

Did I get that wrong by mistake?

Jake
 

rtclay

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2022
Messages
8
Location
New Orleans
I thought you meant you manually filled the ice maker tray with water you poured in the tray yourself?

Did I get that wrong by mistake?

Jake
You are correct, I can fill the ice tray through diagnostics and manually opening the water supply valve this way. So I don’t think the water line is frozen. Temp readings in the ice box may not be getting cold enough. The freezer section is also in the 20’s, while my refrigerator section is getting too cold. I try to change the temps on the control panel but after about 10 minutes the reading revert back to 33 in the refrigerator compartment. The ice box fan does not come on automatically, I’m assuming bc the unit is still trying to satisfy a colder temp in the freezer.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
The freezer section is also in the 20’s
That's the problem then, the freezer temp should be between 0 to 10 degrees F at all times.

Do you hear the fan running in the freezer? Is there frost build up on the back panel in the freezer? It would be a good idea to remove the freezer evaporator cover and see.

Yes, here's the service manual for your model: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iRRnn103aeGMfrJwdW0Qoazg6S6k2qho/view?usp=sharing

Page 3-8 where it says:
Evaporator Cover Assembly
1. Remove the freezer door.
2. Remove the top pan assembly.
3. Remove the bottom pan assembly.
4. Remove the bracket assembly.
5. Remove the freezer ice maker.
6. Remove the four corner screws on the evaporator cover.
7. Pull the evaporator cover assembly away from the back liner, disconnect the wiring connector, and remove.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, sounds good.

Jake
 

rtclay

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2022
Messages
8
Location
New Orleans
Alright,
So the FC cool was frozen over in a uniform pattern. I defrosted the coil with steam and put back into operation. The coil froze again. I replaced the coil defrost heater wire. The coil continues to freeze. I’m at a loss
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
You didn't answer my question--->Do you hear the main FC(freezer)evaporator fan motor running in the freezer? Open the freezer door and listen if its running, press the door switch in and see if it runs with the freezer door open.

Here's the main FC(freezer) evaporator fan motor assembly for your model:

I'm attaching your tech. data sheet below.

Do--->Service Test - 56 FC Fan Test
• When entering service test, the Freezer Fan turns on. The display shows “ON.”
• When leaving service test, the Freezer Fan turns off.

Jake
 

Attachments

  • Tech Sheet - W11190777 - REV A.pdf
    1.8 MB · Views: 25

rtclay

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2022
Messages
8
Location
New Orleans
Thanks Jake,

Yes, the fan motor is operational and circulating air across the coil and into the FC. The only thing I can think of is either the unit is never going into defrost, or the refrigerant levels are low, or both. What are your thoughts. I appreciate your advice.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
If you have a thin layer of frost on the evaporator coils from Top to Bottom, then you don't have a refrigerant leak.

The problem is likely the main control board, on your model it also comes with a new UI Board which you have to replace too at the same time.

Here's the main control board for your model: W11533213

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok sounds good, let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Are both evaporator fan motors running when it gets frozen? Which is frozen the refrigerator evap coil or the freezer evap coil?

At any rate--->Something is very out of the norm here. I would need to be at your house to investigate this problem, its extremely unusual!!!

Its best to contact KitchenAid to come out at 800-422-1230, then the KA tech can call the FACTORY HOTLINE from your house to investigate this problem, if the KA tech has not seen it before either.

Jake
 
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top