• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

KitchenAid Refrigerator KRFF507ESS01 making ice won't auto dump

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
Model Number
KRFF507ESS01
Brand
KitchenAid
Age
6-10 years
Hi
Another KRFF507ESS01 ice maker issue.. I hope someone will be kind enough to help.

My ice maker doesn't seem to automatically dump ice. It has never been a fast ice maker, but over the last year the cycle time has gotten progressively slower until it just stopped. I haven't opened the unit yet or probed voltages. I'm hoping it's a setting somewhere or reset sequence and don't need to replace the control board.

User Settings
"Make Ice"
switch: ON
Max Ice: Enabled

Diag results:
Service Test - 56:
Ice Maker Error Codes - Ok Code: E0
Service Test - 15:
Ice Level Sensor - Not Full - Code: 02
Service Test - 36:
Icebox fan - Makes low volume fan noise and blows a "little" air
Service Test - 37: Ice Box Thermistor - reports good Code:" 01
Service Test - 57:
Ice Maker Harvest - Ice is dumped into bin. Final Code: 01
Service Test - 45:
Ice Maker Water Fill Test - Works, can hear solenoid and water entering the ice maker

After running harvest, the ice maker does not immediately refill with water during after leaving diagnostics mode.

thanks
g
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
I'd get a freezer thermometer and put it in the ice maker compartment and give it a hour or two and see what it reads.

It MUST be 10 degrees or lower at all times for the ice maker to work properly and consistently.

If its 10 degrees F or lower at all times, then it sounds like a faulty ice maker.

Here's the ice maker for your model: W11483245 Icemaker

This video shows you how to access it:

After running harvest, the ice maker does not immediately refill with water during after leaving diagnostics mode.
It does not mention filling with water in that test.

Service Test - 57: Ice Maker Harvest
Press SW3 to activate a harvest sequence.
NOTE: Digit 1 displays the state of the sequence. Digit 2 displays the outcome of the sequence. Once initiated, the sequence cannot be exited.
Digit 1 (0 = heater and motor OFF, 1 = ice maker heater ON, 2 = motor rotating clockwise until it home position)
Digit 2 (0 = in progress, 1 = harvesting completed, 2 = harvesting not completed) Doors must be closed.
NOTE: “Harvesting not completed” does not exit the step, but indicates the timeout of 70 seconds has passed.

Here's the tech. data sheet for your model: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zNoWE7UUrVD9F-hCyqOS7USaQp5uu16b/view?usp=sharing

Jake
 

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
@Jake , Thanks for the tip. The freezer is hovering about 9 degrees when the temp setpoint is 0.
Sorry for tht late replay, the day job has been relentless. Tracking down the warm freezer 2251/10:51pm
 

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
Welp, the thermistors all check good according to the diag panel.

I can't hear the freezer fan going, so start troubleshooting in the AM
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
I can't hear the freezer fan going, so start troubleshooting in the AM
Ok, the freezer fan motor is 14 Volts DC.

I'm attaching your tech data sheet below, look at the very bottom in that chart where it says MAIN CONTROL see P14-1 and 14-2--->14VDC--->FC FAN MOTOR OUTPUT ACTIVATE SERVICE TEST 3, STEP 2. Do that SERVICE TEST 3, STEP 2 and that will activate 14VDC on those pins.

Here's the evaporator(freezer) fan motor for your model:
W11032800 Motor-Evap


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

Attachments

  • W10832298-RevA.pdf
    4.1 MB · Views: 18

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
Finally replaced the fan... Now it's going. Its been 3 days and no change in ice making. The fan voltage is about 14v running on panel diagnostics.
The temp is still the same, about 10 degrees warmer than the console setting. I'm assuming the freezer thermistor is not reporting the correct voltage or the control board is has a bad voltage reference.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
The temp is still the same, about 10 degrees warmer than the console setting.
What is the console temperature setting you have it at?

What is the Realtime temperature that your freezer thermometer says it it?

If you don't have freezer thermometer you can get the RED Liquid or digital freezer thermometer. Walmart, Target sells them usually at about 10 dollars and they last a lifetime. The temperature needs to be 10 degrees F or lower at all times for the ice maker to work properly.

Jake
 

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
The setting temp is -5F
The measured temp is +9F
The compressor and fan have been running non-stop.

There is something else wrong here.
 

ApplianceBCS

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2022
Messages
52
Location
College Station, TX
Check your evaporator coil and see what the frost pattern is and if there is excessive frost or ice. Temps are high with the setting of 0. Would make sure the coils are cleaned. Going further this model has some issues with the ice maker inside the roof check to make sure there is not ice on the back left corner of the ice maker cabin. These have seals that have to seal that ice maker cabin it will cause havoc. Pull the ice maker out of the cabin and see if you see any signs of the ice maker fill tube frozen or what I see on these often is the ice maker mold leaks and will freeze up inside the cabin cause loss of ice production.
 

garym

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2022
Messages
6
Location
USA
I checked condenser coil, it was pretty clogged. I vacuumed and blew it out w compressed air. After vacuuming it was about room temp.

The compressor is hotter than I expected, about 120F. I could hold my hand on it 15 secs. I guess I should expect it to be hot after running 3 days non stop.

The refrigerator temp is 40F, the setting in the panel is 35F. No ice on the frig evap coil.

I’ll open the freezer coil again, maybe the new fan is junk ? Or the fan blade is loose having ice on the evap coil.

Getting another new thermometer
 
Last edited:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
If you can take a photo of your evaporator coil so we can see the frost pattern on it please.

Look at the very bottom photo below where it says NORMAL FROST PATTERN.
 

Attachments

  • Frost Patterns.jpg
    Frost Patterns.jpg
    194.8 KB · Views: 23
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top