• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

KSCS25FTMS02 KitchenAid Refrigerator Cycles on and off continuous

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Model Number
KSCS25FTMS02
Brand
KitchenAid
Age
6-10 years
Hi there.

Side by side Kitchenaid refrigerator. Recently we noticed the fridge continually cycles on and off. It will run for a minute or so and then stop. Immediately hear a click and then it cycles again. Its like it never gets a chance to not run. As soon as is it stops, it starts again. Temperatures have been fine. Coils are clean and we vacuum them every couple months.

I read about replacing a control panel but not sure...

Any ideas on how to fix?

Thanks!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
When it cycles off, does the entire refrigerator cycle off, or just the compressor cycles off? Does the condenser fan motor next to the compressor cycle off too?

Does the fan in the freezer cycle off too or does it keep running?

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
I believe the whole thing cycles off. You can hear the click and then complete silence. Then almost immediately another click and everything is back on.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, then that indicates the control board is starting to fail, they don't make that control board anymore, but they make a service kit to replace it with.

Here's the service kit to replace it:
Electronic Control Board Service Kit W10823803


It comes with instructions on how to do it.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Anytime!

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Ok. Ow I’m noticing that it’s not cycling in and off like it was. It doesn’t cycle at all and just running. Is this the same issue then?

Thanks again!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Running and? Not cooling or cooling?

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Cooling fine. Temps haven’t changed from 0 and 37. No noticeable issues like before when it was cycling. Other than it continues to run and doesn’t shut off.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, that indicates this problem your having is intermittent, so it can start happening again at anytime.

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Ok thanks. So the issue though is the board. Should it cycle off every so often though? Right now it just continues to run constantly never taking a “break” if you know what I mean.

Thanks again!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
It should cycle on and off to maintain cooling temperatures, but if it cycles off and stays off and starts getting warm inside then that part would need to be replaced or go refrigerator shopping.

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Ok. So it’s not cycling off at all. Temperatures are staying the same though. So is it still the board that is the issue?

Thanks
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
It will take 24 hours for the temps to stabilize, so it will run a lot until then.

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
The temps have never changed. They have always been consistent at 0 and 37 (freezer and fridge). The issue now is that it doesn’t cycle off. Previously it would try to cycle off but then click and restart. Now it doesn’t cycle off.

Ideas?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Nope, Time to contact KitchenAid Canada to have a tech come out to see what's going on.

Jake
 

Torinate

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
24
Location
Elora Ontario
Hmm. That stinks.

Hate spending $100+ for someone to come out if I can spend the money on a part that fixes it instead.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Yes, I know but its very hard to diagnose it when the problem is intermittent.

Its most likely that control board starting to go out, normal wear and tear and age on appliances makes parts naturally fail, period.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
130,205
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Anytime!

Jake
 
Top