• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

KSRL25FTST00 KitchenAid Refrig If defrost heater gets hot during diagnostic mode - can you assume low side of thermostat is good without ohms test?

RSko

Premium Member
Model Number
KSRL25FTST00
Brand
KitchenAid
Hi! Newbie here. Like most other new members I searched the forums looking for answers which brought me here. Issue is the unit is not defrosting.

I've got it narrowed down to the defrost thermostat or the control board (which is discontinued - ugh!). My question: If the defrost heater gets hot during diagnostic mode (while freezer is cold) can I "assume" the low end threshold of the thermostat is good short of taking it all apart again, cutting the thermostat wires and doing the ohms test? I'm not having an issue with the freezer staying cold which tells me the high end limit of the thermostat is working. I believe the refrigerator is not going in to defrost mode at all. Could the issue still be the thermostat? Like I said, the control board is discontinued and I hate to throw another $40 in to fixing it if I can't get a new control board in the long run. Could the problem still be the thermostat even though I confirmed the heater worked via diagnostics while the freezer was below its set point?

Thanks for any help!

Here is my full troubleshooting if you care to read further: