• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED KUDM01TJBT1 KitchenAid Dishwasher fills with water. Wash light blinks. Chopper cover removal help too!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ozofoe

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
3
Location
Chicagoish
Model Number
KUDM01TJBT1
Brand
KitchenAid
Age
1-5 years
I have a KitchAid KUDM01TJBT1. I have power to the control panel, and unit fills with water. When it tries to go into the wash sequence, the wash/power/and options light blink. The washer pauses, and then gives it another shot. It will continue in this loop until I cancel. It has started washing for a couple of minutes, and then quit.

It seemed like a short in the wire, so I reconnected the main power cord. Didn't resolve. A lot of forums talk about "thermal fuses". Is my washer a candidate? Any help is greatly appreciated.<O:p
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
121,870
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

You have a short in your control panel assembly, you will need a new one.

What color is yours?

Here is a new one for your model you can order, if yours is black:
WP8270226 Console Asm.


Jake
 

ozofoe

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
3
Location
Chicagoish
I got a new control panel with keypad and the brain box behind it, did not resolve. I think the dishwasher stops when it tries to start the pump it uses for the wash cycle. That pump is probably what I'll repace next. Sound like a good idea, or am I way off? I hope I can fix it soon, I hate doing dishes.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
121,870
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thats odd, that control panel/touchpad assembly should of fixed it. I have fixed many of these models with the same symptoms of yours.

It sounds like more of a technical issue, I would hate to see you keep replacing parts, I would check for something that could be stuck in your chopper screen area, as described here:

Jake
 

ozofoe

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
3
Location
Chicagoish
Trouble removing shield

I can't budge the inlet shileld. Part # 8 on the diagram. I took the screw out located on the left side of the shield, and a screw going through part 9. The flat (part 9) protector lifted out easily, but the dome shaped shield won't budge. Is there a trick to removing part 8?





GSM3ZJEV.gif
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
121,870
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes

Do you see the little notch at the very top of #8? Get a flathead screwdriver and tap that towards the right, then it will come off.

Jake
 

toolarts

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
6
Location
Vallejo, CA
I know it's been a long time since the last post, but this is still a common dishwasher. There is a release on the right side that is down in the little sump, as stated above, you can push it to the left and that will release the cover --BUT, but, but, but, the cover could still be REALLY HARD to get off. It gets welded to the sump with crud, especially if the macerator is horribly clogged.

I worked on it for 10 minutes before it finally came loose, and you have to be careful not to damage the plastic.

I know it would work to bend the end of a long screwdriver to an acute angle making a kind of hook. Then you could get under the front edge, there is lots of room, and pry UP.
However, I was able to get mine free by wedging a knife into the back edge in various places until it finally popped.

I also had a 1.25" long finish nail inside my macerator compartment. !!!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
121,870
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, some of those chopper screen covers can be a nightmare to remove after many years in place, but I've always been able to remove them.

Glad to hear you got yours off.(y)

For others following this 2006 thread.:)


Here's the chopper screen assembly for this model:
Food Chopper Assembly W10083957V


Here's the video to replace it:


Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top