• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Leonard Refrigerator Model LC-R

electro47

Premium Member
Model Number
LC-R
Brand
Kelvinator
I have a Leonard refrigerator model LC-R that has worked flawlessly until today. I suspected that it might be a start capacitor issue but when I opened it up there was none. Only a relay with a GM part number 5339200. I am a master electrician so I know a how to troubleshoot a lot of things but this is a little out of my area of expertise. I have 123 volts on all the terminals with the thermostat on and even when it is off. Is there a way to isolate which component is at fault. Jumper wires between terminals? Ohm readings for the compressor? Thanks for your help.

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
I think kelvinator uses a hot wire relay. I'll post a wiring diagram for you. `Basically, the L1 side of the power cord connects to the relay terminal marked L. The N side of the power cord connects to a dummy post. It's just a way to connect two wires and doesn't connect to anything in the relay. The other wire on that post goes up through the t-stat and back to another dummy post. The wire connected to that becomes the common wire on the compressor. The wire on the relay terminal marked S goes to the compressor start windings and the terminal marked M goes to the run windings. If yours doesn't look similar to this, take a few pics and post them here. This model doesn't have a condensor fan or light.
vintage ref hot wire relay.jpg

electro47

Premium Member