LG WT4970CW UE cant solve

Tayloorscott

Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Az
Model
WT4970CW
Brand
LG
Age
1-5 years
Top load washer, probably around 4 years old. It has a 413PN... serial so I believe that's with the newer control boards.

I get the UE code during the rinse cycle. Our older son used the speed wash all the time, and I never noticed him getting the error, but on normal and heavy duty washes the problem has gotten worse and worse, and now I cant get a load done.

I replaced the suspension rods, boom, first load with sheets not and a single problem. Was thrilled, but now it's worse than ever. I checked the stator nut on bottom, its tight. Washers balanced. I checked the water level pressure season tube that it's clear, and it is. I did notice the sensor had a rattle inside of it though.

I ran clean tub mode with nothing in the washer and it went through many cycles of of draining during the rinse cycle. I never pay attention to a normal wash, but it seemed like the pump was trying to drain water for a long time after the tub was already empty. Sign it might be the pressure switch?? It didnt through an error though even though it seem to go through many rinse cycles. I got tired of watching and I think it finally threw the UE in spin cycle.

I'm about to check the drain pump and hoses to make sure they're clear but anyone got any ideas? Maybe the water-level pressure switch, or something else related to UE?

Doesnt seem to be making odd noises
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,345
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

Tayloorscott

Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Az
Yeah, I saw that bulletin. Believe it's for serial numbered machine lower and older than my unit.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,345
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I saw that too, but I believe it meant just updating the software on your current control board if the serial number was for yours. Since its not, I would think replacing the control board would fall under the category for the UE error fix, if your serial didn't match for the updating the software on your current control board.

Jake
 

Tayloorscott

Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Az
I appear to have fixed the issue. For anyone else that may run into it, check that your drum is centered. Mine was level, but I noticed it was a little off center. Measured it and indeed it was about 3/4" off to one side. I picked up some thick 1" washers up at hardware store and cut a slot about the size of the suspension rod with my angle grinder. I inserted enough washers in between the rubber washer and existing washer preinstalled on the rods on the top side of the washing machine. Drum is now centered. I've done 3 loads of mixed sizes and no issues.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,345
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent good job.:)

Let us know if you get anymore UE error codes.

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 

Tayloorscott

Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Az
**UPDATE**

Washer is now on the curb lol

Worked for about a week or so. I played with it some more but just sick of wasting my time and money on it. Not the first issue I had with this LG.

Hopefully I'll have better luck with my new whirlpool.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,345
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, your new Whirlpool will be much better.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top