• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

LMX25964ST/02 LG French Door Refrigerator is not cooling

Dmitriy

Premium Member
Model Number
LMX25964ST
Brand
LG
Hello,

This is my first post. I'm looking for some guidance to help me troubleshoot this fridge. I'm an auto repair professional and repair vintage stereo gear as a hobby so test equipment usage is no problem here.

Fridge stopped cooling couple of days ago without any codes on display or any noises. Compressor was warm but not hot. Condenser fan was working as should.
I turned it off and waited about 5 minutes and plugged it back in hoping that it might be processor glitch. No luck.

This model uses linear compressor which I believe should operate on DC voltage, correct? I'm getting 0.500vdc out of main board to compressor while it runs, however, I get 150vac from same point.

I also measured resistance of all 4 temperature sensors that diagram shows. 3 sensors show around 12kOhms each and Freezer temp sensor shows around 2kOhms. I thought that it would be odd for them to use different value for this sensor and substituted sensor with 12kOhm resistor to see if it will start cooling. No luck. Same thing.
Now that fridge was off long enough, I observe following: upon plugging in ice dispenser makes ice release sound. next comes several relay clicks on the board and compressor comes on. Condenser and evaporator fans are running. Low side of refrigerant is getting cool but not cold. High side is not getting hot. It seems that it is getting few degrees warmer after compressor runs for several minutes. Unit responds to door switches. LED on the main board is off. Main board has test button but I wasn't able to find any guidance on the web on how to use it. My gut feeling is that inverter died on the main board. That would be large heat sinked rectifier, correct?

Any suggestions are really appreciated.
Dmitriy

Board.jpg

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi Dmitriy,