Maytag: Am I Nuts??

bmwfish

Premium Member
Howdy,

Newbie here, so please bear with me. I apologize if I posted this in the wrong forum. I'm a member of the class who got repeatedly burned by the Neptune FL issues (wax motor, fried resistor, mildewed boot, etc) on the machines we bought in 1998. So far, my lovely wife has prevented me from taking the machines out back and shooting them, but she's starting to relent. :cool: After two boot replacements (the last one on my dime), it's mildewed again. This time, it's really disgusting. So, she's demanding a new set of machines. Due to space constraints, I can only fit a 28" deep or less washer, eliminating most front loaders, except for the Neptune. Am I completely nuts for even considering another Maytag? Should I save the money and spend it on therapy? Or should I just trot on down to Sears and buy a set of the new Kenmore Oasis machines? They certainly look good on paper, but I'd really like to buy something that will perform flawlessly and fade into the background for the next 15-20 years in ultra-reliable obscurity.

Your opinions are highly valued. Please either encourage me to give Maytag another chance, or confirm that I'm nuts to even consider them. If you were buying a set for your own personal use, which machines would you buy?

TIA,
bmwfish

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Thats odd, it would mildew so much. Where the washer is located, is it in an area where there's not much air circulation? Do you leave the door ajar when its not in use?

Jake

bmwfish

Premium Member
Jake said:
Thats odd, it would mildew so much. Where the washer is located, is it in an area where there's not much air circulation? Do you leave the door ajar when its not in use?

Jake
Hi Jake,