Maytag Neptune MDE5500AYW control panel lights work but dryer won't

Status
Not open for further replies.

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Model
MDE5500AYW
Brand
Maytag
Age
1-5 years
I have a Maytag Neptune MDE5500AYW electric dryer. Lights on control panel work fine. Can change settings and all lights change as usual. Nothing unusual with the dryer door. Bottom push in still there and at the side of the dryer door, the prong looks fine and where the prong goes in looks fine.

Have flipped the breaker and tried it again to no avail. Any ideas? Any suggestions MUCH appreciated!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Lets first check your thermal fuse, it will never start if your thermal fuse is bad, its located on the front of your blower wheel housing, its white. You can ohm it for continuity or jump it just to see if it starts. Make sure you unplug your dryer first before ohm testing it or jumping it.

Here's the repair manual for your model that shows you how to access it: www.applianceblog.com/manuals/16023110.pdf

Here's the thermal fuse for your model:
Thermal Fuse 33001762 Order now for same day shipping. 365 day return policy. RepairClinic.com


Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Might have to call a friend who has some tools to check these things. Will look over simply locating the front of my blower wheel housing tomorrow. I'm assuming the location of this will be found in the Service Handbook you linked? Saved a copy of that to my HD for future use but will start with locating that part. The rest may have to depend on a neighbor when he gets home on Saturday or calling my ex to see how soon he could get down here with his meters to check.

Appreciate the tip-off for the first place to look! Will get that done just as soon as I can!! Thanks much, your reply is appreciated!
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Oh someone also asked me what happened when I pressed the "Start/Pause" button...nothing happens and it continues to blink. I can change all the other settings on the control board, the "off" button works to turn the panel off but it's like it's not even recognizing I have hitten the "start" button. Just an additonal FYI.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, check what I said, let us know.

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
I tried reading the service manual and did word searches on it, hoping it would give me some clue as to how to check this but couldn't find either. Are there detailed instructions to be found anywhere so I can locate these things to check? Help much appreciated!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
On Page 7-1 it shows the thermal fuse on the blower wheel housing. You have remove the front panel assembly first.

On page 5-2 & 5-3 it shows how to remove the front panel and front bulkhead assembly.

Jeff has a good site with lots of photos and walks you through it: Maytag dryers, how to take apart my Maytag dryer, L shaped door

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Just posting a follow up, changed the thermal fuse first, it looked like it was okay when using the voltage meter but figured at $6 for the part and if it was a common thing to go out on these dryers, while I had it apart, I'd just change it. It was only in the last few days that a friend was able to come double check that I'd put it in right and after he put all the doors back on, he first told me it was working, tumbling and heating again.

He went back about 30 minutes later and the dryer wouldn't turn on again. Someone else suggested it might be the start/pause button but unless it is known to work one minute and not the next...I'm stumped. I just tried it again, a few days later and when I first tried it, no lights were on on the control panel. I went and flipped the breaker off and on and when I came back the lights were on...but it did nothing when I pushed the start/pause button.

And just this second, I went to take a second look to see if the start/pause button was going solid or was staying blinking when I pressed it. Oddly enough when I went in there the lights on the control panel were off again. Pressing any buttons didn't do anything. I went and flipped the breaker switch again and went back to the dryer. The control panel was lit up, but when I pressed the start/pause button, nothing but just blinking.

Could me having to flip the breaker to get the control panel to light up be a symptom of something else.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
It sounds like your control panel is the culprit.

Whats the serial# of your dryer? Its located inside the door on the model# tag.

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Serial # is 69495492GJ. If it's the start/pause button only...anyway just that button can be fixed or any place to find a VERY reasonably priced used control panel...as being on employment after having been laid off isn't very conducive to have the $140 laying around like a few I had priced earlier.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Jake,
Thank you for all your previous help. Just know getting around to getting this dryer fixed. My question now is, you have recommended the control panel, whereas someone I just called to price check the part said it sounded more like the control board, not just the panel itself.

Maytag Neptune MDE5500AYW
Serial # is 69495492GJ

We plugged it back up again last night to verify the same thing is still happening. The thermal fuse has been replaced and all the lights on the control panel work as they are supposed too with the only exception being that the "Start/Pause" button continues to blink when you press it and the dryer does not start. If it's the control board, with the cost being close to $199, I"ll have to ponder just looking for a dryer on craigslist instead of repairing this one. Any thoughts/help appreciated!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
The problem sounds like a bad control panel assembly, since your saying some button is not responding.

Believe me, I've been fooled thinking it was the control board when I did all the tests only to find out it wasn't, but the control panel and vise-versa.

So I'd suggest ordering both of these parts and returning the one that you don't need for a full refund.

Here is the control board for your model you can order: Whirlpool 33003028 Electronic Control Board - AppliancePartsPros.com

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Thank you. A friend is going to try to do the membrane check tomorrow. I do know that the dryer has come on once when another person was looking at it, but has not turned on again. Would another clue lie in that?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Just check the membrane switch first.:)

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Jake, we checked the membrane and he said it appeared the pins were fine. Am now order the part so does that narrow down exactly which part I need? Thank you for your help, especially as long and drawn out as this process has been.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, then the control panel membrane should be fine, order the control board and keep us posted.

Jake
 

OWhatAThrill

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Nashville, TN
Ok, ordered and received the control board. My son installed it and it didn't do anything different. Is there a reset switch or anything that needs to be reset for it to recognize the new board?

Also when the box arrived, a friend, not knowing what was it in, tossed it about six feet to the couch, could this have damaged the board. It was in the box and it had a piece of something around it but I wouldn't consider it packaged very securely for an electronic board of any type but don't know how sturdy they are.

So you gut? Control board damaged or I need the Control Panel instead? As always, appreciate your feedback.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,140
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Like I said I always order both and return the one you don't need for a full refund, less shipping.

I don't know if the board got damaged when your friend tossed it.

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top