FIXED MED5870TW0 Dryer won't start when start button pressed

K_Richardson

Premium Member
Model
MED5870TW0
Brand
Maytag
Dryer won't start when start button pressed. Timer ticks when control knob set, no spin, no heat.

Hello! I have a dryer problem, and I've done everything I know to do, so I'm reaching out to the wisdom of those with experience.
This is my first attempted dryer repair, and I have only casual experience in fixing appliances, so please correct me if I've done anything wrong, or if you have any suggestions to try.

It is a Maytag electric dryer, model MED5870TW0, from roughly 2008.

The current issue is this:
I was doing laundry, and I completed two loads without incident. I loaded the third load into the dryer as usual, set the control timer, and when I pushed the start button, nothing happened. I have been troubleshooting from this point.

If the dryer is plugged in and the door shut, and the control knob is turned to either "auto dry" or to "timed dry," the timer starts making a ticking sound, but nothing else occurs. If I push the start button, nothing happens. The timer continues ticking. If I turn the control knob to any of the "off" positions, the ticking stops, and the start button pops back out again.

I've been using a multimeter, and testing components according to the instructions I've found online.

I have checked the breaker box and tested the power and ground at the 220 socket, with no problems.
I have checked the 3-prong cable screwed to the block to make sure it is tight and there are no loose wires arcing.

I have checked continuity on the start switch, and it appears to be functional. When pressed, it has continuity. When the control knob is turned to "off" the button pops back out.
I have checked continuity on the exhaust thermal fuse and the thermistor, and they appear to be functional. I also bridged the thermal fuse and it still didn't start.