• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

MEDX655DW1 Maytag Dryer multiple cycles to dry

Matfam

Premium Member
Model Number
MEDX655DW1
Brand
Maytag
Good Afternoon.
I have a new Maytag MEDX655DW1. It makes some kind of rattling noise (i'm hearing impaired and can't hear it. My wife can though...) and takes multiple cycles to dry a load of clothes. As its still under factory we called and requested warranty service. The technician came out pulled the back off of the dryer, removed the element and stated that we had a vent problem based off of the visual darkening of the element assembly.

I am a HVAC tech and do tons of troubleshooting and design work. I grabbed my drain line camera and we scoped the vent. It was slightly occluded, but not close to plugged. He left and I went to HD and got a brush and cleaned the line, scoping it again to be certain. Its clean. There are 4 90° elle's and 15' of lineal pipe between the dryer and the flapper assembly. It is installed per the manufactures instructions.

Same technician has been back twice, doing the same thing, making the same diagnosis.

I'm completely ok with having a vent problem--- odd that it only happens on a brand new dryer and not the old dryer. Ok though.

Here is what I don't know and can't find
  • How many CFM is my dryer rated for? (empty dryer)
  • what is the allowable temperature rise across the element? (empty dryer) (measured between ambient air and the interior drum)
  • what is the design static?
If I have a vent problem... That's easy to solve; however I have to know what I am shooting for. Unlike the technician that came out, I don't get paid to guess and replace parts. I get paid to make accurate technical diagnosis and solve problems.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member