• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake

FIXED Microwave display is flashing 88:88

crudman

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
4
Location
Pea Ridge, AR
Model Number
FMV156DSB
Brand
Frigidaire
Age
6-10 years
I replaced the primary interlock switch that was bad. Put it back together and now the display is flashing 88:88. :rolleyes: Please help
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
24,014
Location
Ontario, Canada
Hi,

A copy:

• Before the microwave oven can be used, follow these procedures:
1. Plug in the microwave oven. Close the door. The microwave oven
display will then begin flashing
88:88.
2. Touch the Clear/Off pad. : will appear.
3. Set clock.
TO SET THE CLOCK
• Suppose you want to enter the correct time of day 12:30 (A.M.
or P.M.).
1. Touch Timer/Clock pad.
2. Enter time 1,2,3,0 and touch Timer/Clock pad again.
This is a 12 hour clock. If you attempt to enter an incorrect clock
time, ERROR will appear in the display. Touch the Clear/Off pad
and re-enter the time.

jeff.
 

crudman

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
4
Location
Pea Ridge, AR
Hi Jeff
Thank you for the reply, I tried pushing the key pad but there is no responce . I pushed the clear/off key but the number 88:88 just keep flashing. Question ! Do you think that I might have connected one of the wires incorrectly. Thank you Charl.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
24,014
Location
Ontario, Canada
I tried pushing the key pad but there is no responce
Kinda sounds like the key panal is undone or loose if pressing start/off/#'s/clear gets no response. Undo the ribbon and reseat it.

Do you think that I might have connected one of the wires incorrectly
Just changing a switch normally won't hurt anything else unless we bump something in the process.....wiring the switch wrong could blow a fuse but -normally- will not effect other things. If all worked ok before your repair then definetly retrace your steps for sure!

jeff.
 

crudman

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
4
Location
Pea Ridge, AR
Thank you

Thank you Jeff:)
I will look at the ribbon and re-seat it. There are two sets of wires on the control unit that I am not sure about RY2, RY1 COM. N.O. I disconnected them to have better access I might have swapped those two. I'll let you know what I found.

Charl Rudman
 
Top