erikpsmith

Model Number
B6-39-A
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm looking for some advice. Last weekend, I bought an immaculate vintage fridge, still in working order. It's a 1939 General Electric 6 cu ft refrigerator. Model number is B6-39-A. (I have seen this type of fridge described as a "CF," but I am not sure what that stands for or means.)

210509 GE refrigerator in kitchen 1200x900 20210509_105224.jpg

I got it into the kitchen and went to plug it in -- and discovered that the power cord needs replacement. The outer insulation is broken where the cord meets the plug. I think the cord might actually be the original, because the plug is in an art-deco style. The previous owner had been using the fridge for years, but mentioned, "I think it needs a new cord." Roger that. I want to put this into regular service in my kitchen, and I'm not going to plug it in until the cord is replaced.

210510 power cord 1 1200x900 20210510_095252.jpg

Sounds simple, right? Well, no.

I do not consider myself at all skilled with electrical stuff, and there are some good reasons to call in a repairman with expertise. But whenever I call appliance-repair shops, I always get, "Oh, that's too old. We wouldn't know where to get parts."

So the only way I'm gonna get someone out to my house is to tell 'em, "I have the parts already."

The cord is super-easy to find. I bought one at Home Depot. But I found an excellent YouTube video last night about how to repair this model. It appears the cord attaches to a relay that is mounted on the condenser motor. The YouTube video has convinced me that the relay ought to be replaced at the same time. In addition, it looks like an in-line fuse should be installed to protect the motor. (Link here:
)

This means I have to locate a relay that will work with this fridge. Does anyone have any thoughts on where to turn? What should I be looking for? Part number? I don't know where to begin.