• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake
  • Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

No Power in bertazzoni Microwave MO30STANE

manojdada

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
7
Location
san francisco
Model Number
MO30STANE
Age
1-5 years
Hi All,

I have bertazzoni Microwave and no power. I do not see anything on display. I tested following componen

diode and capacitor
Magnetron
Two fuse all has continuity.

I can not test ceramic fuse because it has been soldered on board, there is Magnetron Thermal fuse and i do find NO continuity. looking for feedback how to make sure it has broken M Thermal fuse


WhatsApp Image 2022-06-13 at 2.21.51 PM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2022-06-13 at 2.21.43 PM.jpeg
Magnetron
Two fuse all has continuity.
WhatsApp Image 2022-06-13 at 2.21.50 PM.jpeg

I can not test ceramic fuse because it has been soldered on board, there is Magnetron Thermal fuse and i do find NO continuity. looking for feedback how to make sure it has broken M Thermal fuse .

Screen Shot 2022-06-13 at 2.18.06 PM.png
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada
Hi,

Just by looking at your pics ( nice jobs on those )....doesn't that board with the fuse have 2 wires going in and 2 wires going out? Power in but no power out tested with a volt meter should suggest the fuse is bad.

jeff sr.
 

manojdada

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
7
Location
san francisco
Hi Jeff,

Thanks. I like to remove that ceramic fuse and test continuity but it is soldered on the board. i did test that fuse without taking out from the board i can see continuity. Please suggest me how to test it. Appreciated help
Manoj
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada
Isolating the fuse is best, but all that is required is to isolate one side of the fuse to continuity test the fuse.
Those ends look like they will seperate from the fuse.

jeff sr.
 

manojdada

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
7
Location
san francisco
to isolate the ceramic switch, i will have to de-solider one. There is cap on top fuse and that cap is solders to board. How can remove the cap from the fuse Any suggestion.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada
If you don't think the end will come off of the fuse then you have no choice but to un-solder it.

image0010__71088.1541611440.png


jeff sr.
 

manojdada

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
7
Location
san francisco
done. I took out and tested continuity and it has continuity. Only Magnetron Temp fuse does not have continuity
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2022-06-14 at 8.00.14 AM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2022-06-14 at 8.00.14 AM.jpeg
    276.8 KB · Views: 24

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada
I took out and tested continuity and it has continuity.

Good job!
Put back together.

Only Magnetron Temp fuse does not have continuity

Bypass it to see what happens. A wire with alligator clips was useful for doing this for me.

jeff sr.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada

manojdada

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
7
Location
san francisco
Yes it was in dedicated outlet. I plugged in the microwave, power came up, i put the water cup inside, close the door and started it. It trip the dedicated circuit breaker in the house. It happened three time. I started testing the continuity again for Diode, Fuse, Meganatron. I see all has continuity except lower door switch. I see continuity with or without door is closed.

Does capacitor test is continuity test?

Thanks
Manoj
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
25,616
Location
Ontario, Canada
Top