NTW4600YQ1 Amana washer not doing final spin

alex021876

Model Number
NTW4600YQ1
Brand
Amana
I have an Amana NTW4600YQ1. It is working fine except when it's done, the clothes are soaking wet. When I watch it it says that it's doing the final spin. I hear a noise which i assume is the pump getting the water out. But it isn't spinning. It does agitate during the wash. I'm a novice so I would really appreciate any help I can get. Thank you.
Alex

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi Alex,

That issue sounds like possibly your shift actuator may be the culprit. But lets verify that first.

There has been a few service bulletins posted for this model washer you have, This model is a Maytag made by Whirlpool - Vertical Modular Washer. I'm going to post what SENSING does first, then you will need to locate your tech. data sheet and check for error codes and post what the error codes say.

SENSING
When the START button is pressed, the washer will first perform a self-test on the lid lock mechanism. You will hear a click, the basket will make a slight turn, and the lid will unlock briefly before locking again. Once the lid has locked the second time, the washer
will slowly spin the dry load to estimate the load size, and begin adding water. The washer will then move the load briefly, pause to allow water to soak in to the load, and resume adding water. This process may repeat until the correct amount of water has been
added for the load. You may also hear water flowing through the dispenser, adding detergent to the load.

NOTE: The sensing light may also come on during the Soak and Wash portions of the cycle. This is normal.

Now I'm posting your Lid Lock Switch and the video of how to access and replace it, but I don't want you to replace the lid switch unless you get an error code saying to replace it. The main reason I'm posting your lid lock switch and video is just to show you how to access your tech. data sheet.

Here's the lid lock switch for your model: