NTW4601XQ0 Washer Not Pumping Water Out

rustyfender

Premium Member
Model Number
NTW4601XQ0
Brand
Amana
I'm assuming the problem is either a water pump, a broken belt, or an obstruction (sock?).

I don't know the exact age of this machine, but I am assuming it must be at least 15 years old.

Is this a hard fix, and is there a service manual available, and / or repair videos for this unit?

Thanks!

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi,

I'd first check your drain pump for a clog, I see that happen 9 out of 10 times when it won't drain or won't drain properly, or the drain pump went out.

Here's the drain pump for your model:
Drain Pump WPW10276397

There is a video on how to access it in the part link.

Have a lot of big old towels handy, that water in the tub will gush out when you remove the rubber hoses to the drain pump.

Jake

rustyfender

Premium Member
I'm not an electrical expert (although I have an ohm machine / tester), but if the pump's motor is working, I'd assume the unit is OK?

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Yes, but like I said there could still be something stuck/jammed in it.

Did you remove the drain pump and look inside it to see with a flashlight?

Jake

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Ok, sounds good.:)

Jake

rustyfender

Premium Member
Finally got around to examining this washer, and I could not not find any blockage within the pump area or drain hose.

I righted the washer, reconnected the lines, and ran it on the small setting (without clothes), and it worked fine from what I could tell, although I am not familiar with the dials on these newer machines. I take it the dial does not turn like a manual timer does?

For what it's worth, I set the dial on Rinse & Spin (no load), and the lid locked and the fill light came on - however, the machine made some funny noises, and then the lid unlocked (water did not fill the tub during this setting).