• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED PFS22MIWCBB GE Refrigerator - Power outage now not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jstafford

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Michigan
Model Number
PFS22MIWCBB
Brand
GE
Age
6-10 years
I have a GE Profile, PFS22MIWCBB, side by side bottom freezer. We had a power outage and when power came back on the fridge no longer worked. Inside light is on, nothing on the temp displays and no sounds. I installed a new control board and still nothing. Next step?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
125,620
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Pull the machine away from the wall and remove the cover over the motherboard.

On the motherboard, measure the voltage across J11 (LINE) and J7-9. Meter should indicate 120 Volts AC. Measure the voltage across J4-2 and J4-3. Meter should indicate 12-13 Volts DC.
GEMB-01.jpgGEMB-02.jpg

Here's the display board for your model you can order if needed:
WR55X10522 Pwb Assembly Display


Jake
 

Jstafford

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Michigan
Thanks for getting back to me. Line power was good. That output at J4-2 and J4-3 was only around 8-9 volts?? I pulled the display board and don't see anything all black and burned, there is a small white spot at R24
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
125,620
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Your voltage is too low to it, you should be getting 12-13 Volts DC. 8-9 Volts DC is not enough.

So the problem is the motherboard. Where did you get the motherboard at?

Here's the motherboard for your model:
WR55X10942P Control Board


Jake
 

Jstafford

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Michigan
ebay, now just to verify I put one lead on 2 and the other on 3? They are in order 1-5, going L-R(top to bottom in your pic above). Should I pull the plug off to check? There were openings so I just checked through those.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
125,620
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Please don't buy from ebay, way too much fraudulent activity there. Order it my link to it above in post #4 and it should work.

Yes, Measure the voltage across J4-2 and J4-3. Meter should indicate 12-13 Volts DC.

Should I pull the plug off to check?
No, leave it own, if your meter leads are too big use this safety pin trick:

safety pin 500x250.jpg


Click the motherboard pinout diagram I posted above, it will enlarge it so you can see exactly where Pin 2 and Pin 3 are located on the J4 connector.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
125,620
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, glad to hear the new motherboard fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top