• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED PYE2300AYW Maytag Dryer won't heat even after replacing parts

Status
Not open for further replies.

lshunnarah

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Tampa, FL
Model Number
PYE2300AYW
Brand
Maytag
Age
More than 10 years
Hi,

I have a Maytag PYE2300AYW dryer that will not heat. I have reviewed other threads on this forum that seem to have similar issues but none have helped me so far. I have replaced the high limit t-stat, the thermal fuse, the heating element and the cycling t-stat. I don't think the vents are clogged as I have done as much as possible to clean them. The dryer runs and everything seems to work as intended, just no heat. I've struggled to find proper documentation on what each part is and where it goes as the parts I've ordered don't seem to 100% match the description. I've tested with a MM and I do have continuity on all the parts. I'm a bit confused how the thermal fuse works though as there are no wires connected to it and it just seems to sit under the heating element. I'm not a professional so I'm sure it's doing something, just seemed odd to have a fuse with the connectors for wires, yet no wires plug into it. Any other suggestions? At this point I'm just wondering if all my parts are even the correct ones.

Thank you in advance,
Louis
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
136,048
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
. I'm a bit confused how the thermal fuse works though as there are no wires connected to it and it just seems to sit under the heating element.
REALLY? There needs to be wires connected to it to make it heat.

Take a photo of what your seeing and post it here please.

Jake
 

lshunnarah

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Tampa, FL
I will get a picture in a few days next time I'm there. When I first opened the dryer there were no wires connected to it, nor are there any hanging around that I could see which would connect to it. Stay tuned for the pictures in a few days.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
136,048
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona

lshunnarah

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Tampa, FL
Hi, sorry for not responding sooner. Turned out that the issue was with the power cable and nothing else. Apparently the power cable has two leads, each providing 120V. Looks like one is for the motor and the other handles heat or something to that nature. One of the leads apparently was corroded and had broken after arcing. Once the power cable was replaced, everything worked perfectly.

Thank you for the response!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
136,048
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Excellent, good find.:)

Thanks for the update!

Ok, I see what you mean, like this photo here:
FriedWires.jpg

Did you have to get a new terminal block for it too?

Looks like its No Longer Available: WP53-1518

If you need it--->You can likely just remove the old terminal block and take it to your local appliance parts store and they can usually match it up with a universal one.:)

Make sure you unplug it from the wall outlet first, for others following your thread.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
136,048
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Sounds good Louis.(y)

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top