• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Samsung Fridge - Blinks FD when plugged in, inconsistent cooling (Videos)

MrJeeves

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
5
Location
New Mexico
Model Number
RB1944SL
Brand
Samsung
Age
6-10 years
I have a Samsung RB1944 and it's a problem fridge.

For a long time, it would ice up, finally I gave in and replaced all the sensors in the freezer section.

Now: When I plug in the fridge, it blinks FD If I wait, it'll just keep blinking.
I assume this means "Forced Defrost" but I don't know why it does this when plugged in, all the manuals say this is a mode I have to start by hand.




















When this happens, I can hold the top two buttons, it resets and starts working. If I continue holding them, the LED's spin around, and eventually it says "00 0", then says "Fd 0."

















When it does cool, It will be consistent for a week, then it will freeze everything in the fridge section, then it won't seem to cool at all (come home and both sections are warm/warming).
I cannot depend on the fridge currently, and I'm at a loss for why.

Almost never will the front display accurately tell me what the temperature is.

Please, any help? Thank you.

Edited: Fix formatting w/videos.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,806
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Hi,

Yes, here's our main thread on this problem: RB1944SL refrigerator section not cooling all of the way But the OP never came back to update us.

Basically the only other part that would cause this problem is the main control board, you can order it from the link below and install it and if it doesn't fix it you will get a full refund, less shipping, when you return it.

Here's the main control board for your model:
Main Control Board DA41-00128D


Jake
 

MrJeeves

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
5
Location
New Mexico
Good to know.
I'll try this and go from there, Thanks!
I assume "No news, is good news." Hopefully I will remember to duck in and update you.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,806
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Ok, sounds good.:)

Jake
 

MrJeeves

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
5
Location
New Mexico
Alright, Followup.
Much like the previous poster, upon opening the fridge it did not have the "DA41-00128D" you specified. The Original board (as far as I'm aware, I guess the previous owner could have replaced it) was in fact a DA41-00129A.
I found an identical board, and replaced it. On start up, this board does the same thing (Starting to a blinking fd). When I force it into a test, it doesn't say 00 0. It says "00 8".

Thanks
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,806
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
All I can tell you is the OEM part number for that board is:
Main Control Board DA41-00128D


If you don't want to buy it and see if it works, I don't what else to tell you, but to go refrigerator shopping.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,806
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
You didn't say you replaced the OEM board.

We can't find part: DA41-00129A It does NOT pull up as good.

This is the control board that all the parts sites list is for your model:
Main Control Board DA41-00128D


Without a tech. data sheet I can't tell you what the errors are.

Jake
 

MrJeeves

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
5
Location
New Mexico
From my last post:
I found an identical board, and replaced it.
On start up, this board does the same thing (Starting to a blinking fd).
When I force it into a test, it doesn't say 00 0. It says "00 8".

Here's the picture from RepairClinic:
1571678848617.png

So, back to troubleshooting:
- My two boards behave identically.
- Both give me a blinking FD on startup.
- I also receive a code "00 8" when I run the test.

Any thoughts?


Edited: Fixed board model number notes.
 
Last edited:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,806
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
I have no clue then, sorry you will need to have Samsung come out to see what's going on.

Jake
 
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top