• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Samsung RF28HFEDBSR Refrigerator Not Cooling

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
Model Number
RF28HFEDBSR
Brand
Samsung
Age
6-10 years
Hey guys...

I have a Samsung RF28HFEDBSR that isn't cooling at all.

The unit itself will power up but the condenser fan does not run and the compressor never even tries to click on. The compressor itself seems to ohm out okay as each winding landing on 7.8

I did a little research before turning here and saw that it's often a bad board. The previous owner said he replaced the Inverter board, but I can't be sure it was a good board to begin with.
 

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
One more thing that may help with diagnosing this issue.

The previous owner did mention they left it open overnight by accident and it just stopped working. This is when he replaced the board.


Only things that work are the lights and front display. Aside from that, no fan noise from inside the unit being made either.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,786
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi Jeff,

RF28HFEDBSR is missing some digits at the end.

Here's the results I get:
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-00
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-01
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-02
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-03
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-04
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-05
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-06
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-07
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-08
RF28HFEDBSR/AA-09

Here's the service manual for this model: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TAr7JobRaVaf6Z4MRf-2JFC-3xJolr1T

Page 86 is the flowchart of when the compressor won't start.

Page 97 for the 1 blinking red LED it says start failure, check what it says to do in remarks.

Jake
 

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
Jake,

Thanks for the info. I do see the /AA designation but no numbers after that anywhere on my model.

I just tried to put it into Forced Operation Mode and it tripped the GFCI as soon as I did. Any thoughts on why it would do this and would be causing it?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,786
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok,

81E=Compressor starting failure error.
Check if there is a short between compressor terminals. Check IPM Voltage [Under 13.5V]
Check if there is a short between IPM Pins [#1~33]

Check the Compressor and the Cycle

Jake
 

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
Jake,

Thanks for all of your help. It appears it's the inverter board that is the issue.

This may be a dumb question, but it wouldn't be the first one I have asked on here. Can a bad overload protector lead to the board shorting out? If yes, would you recommend I swap that out as well before putting the new board in?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,786
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Can a bad overload protector lead to the board shorting out?
Not that I'm aware of.

Did you ohm test each of the 3 compressor pins to ground? If not, unplug your machine and do that next, and see if your meter reads any ohms.

Jake
 

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
Yes, everything checks out fine with that. It's definitely the board, I was just trying to cover every base before replacing it if something else could have caused it to short out.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,786
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I just tried to put it into Forced Operation Mode and it tripped the GFCI as soon as I did.
Did you try it on NON-GFI too?

Home Appliances are not recommended to be on GFI circuits, it says that in your installation manual.:)

Replace the inverter board.

Here's the inverter board for your model:
DA92-00483B Assy Pcb Inverter


Jake
 

JeffW99

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
31
Location
66062
After the first inverter board we ordered not working, we got a second inverter board installed and it worked just like new. Sorry for the delayed updates!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,786
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Jeff, glad the new inverter board fixed it. (y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top