• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Sub-Zero 650 refrigerator with intermittent warming of refrigerator (technician already came)

Status
Not open for further replies.

william13

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sub Zero
I am a newbie appliance novice with an electrical background. I own a Sub-Zero 650 refrigerator. Recently the refrigerator portion became warm up to 55 degrees.
I had a qualified technician over who tested all the usual culprits and found no issues. During his examination the fridge suddenly started to work and dropped the temperature all the way down to 34 degrees. He hypothesized the control board may have bad relays and should be replaced but there was a 2 weeks wait period until he could give me a next appointment. Mean while the temp is set at 34 but crept back up to 46 and then fell back down to 40 but will not go below and I was hoping it would go to 38 degrees.
I plan on letting him replace the board but I am wondering if a "start relay" problem could present this way. (or maybe something else).

P.S. The compressor reads "Embraco 30 EMI HER"

Thoughts ?

Thank you

One other observation: higher shelves may be 3-6 degrees warmer but I don't know if this is normal

Last edited:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
I'll assume the freezer section is working without issues. Everything we discuss will be for the refrigerator section only. Make sure the evaporator fan motor is working. Is the compressor running? Compressors normally run warm to very warm. A compressor that is hot to extremely hot usually indicates a problem with the sealed system. Are there any error codes or is "service" flashing on the display? Do you hear any "clicking" sounds coming from the compressor?

william13

Premium Member