• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED T36IT70NNP/04 Thermador Refrigerator - Compressor inverter

epttg

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
3
Location
60025
Model Number
T36IT70NNP
Brand
Thermador
Age
More than 10 years
I have Thermador T36IT70NNP-04. Freezer compressor stopped running. The inverter board has no output but has input voltage. I ordered compressor with inverter. But replacing compressor is a big job. The compressor is most likely fine. I'm just wondering if I can just swap the inverter. New and old have the same in and out voltage and frequency, same 1/3hp, 1PH in and 3PH out, 2.1A out. The only difference is the new one has 3.3A in while the old has 2.1A. Both are Embraco inverters.

Models:

Old: VCC3 1156 06 F 03
New: VCC3 1156 20 F 08

Can I just replace inverter?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,262
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I've never tried a different manufacturers inverter. I know the 3-6 VDC signal voltage varies the frequency and the inverter selects the voltage based on that frequency. Is there a frequency (Hz) listed on the inverter? Do you have the 3-6V signal voltage at the inverter?
 

epttg

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
3
Location
60025
Frequencies are the same:

input 120v 50-60 hz
output 230V-53 TO 150Hz

The only difference is Amp rating.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,262
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I think it will work but I'm not 100% sure. I don't think it will do any damage if it doesn't work. The higher amp rating is probably for a different size compressor. I know the windings resistance will vary across different size machines. Anywhere from 6Ω to 12Ω
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
114,727
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,262
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Hi Jake,
Once he found out you had to buy the compressor to get the inverter, he didn't order it. He used an inverter from another machine.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
114,727
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Top