• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Unit Fills With Water then Stops - Cancel Does Nothing

RLBJr71

Premium Member
Model Number
KUDS24SEAL1
Brand
KitchenAid
KitchenAid model KUDS24SEAL1 stopped working on Thanksgiving. We ran one load fine. Set it to run a second load overnight and found it had stopped mid cycle with water still in tub.

Command panel lights. Cycle will start, run water, then stop. Canceling does not drain water.

I tested fuse and it seems OK. Tested with multimeter for continuity and resistance and it seems fine although the fuse itself looks to be blackened. I tested based on Internet videos; I'm not an electrical expert, so I think it tested OK.

I also disassembled the impeller on the bottom of the tub down to and including removing the drain cover. No significant blockage found. Somewhere along the line, it caused the remaining water in the tub to leak out of the bottom onto the floor under the unit. Didn't expect that to happen. Reassembled and tried running the Rinse cycle today. It filled up with water and then stopped again. Cancel did nothing.

Any help would greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

Last edited:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi Bob,

So it fills but the motor won't start? Any sounds at all like a humming sound when the motor should be running? Same with drain/cancel any sounds?

Sounds like your control board went out.

Check for 120 volts coming in across P7 and P8 on the control board, I'm attaching your tech. data sheet below.

Here's the control board for your model:
Main Control Board 8051136

Let us know what you find.

Jake

Attachments

• Tech Sheet - 9743409.pdf
    1.1 MB · Views: 123

RLBJr71

Premium Member
There are no sounds whatsoever when the motor should be running. Same silence after pressing the Cancel button. An associate at a local appliance store thinks it's the control board, too.