• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

WF520ABP/XAA Samsung Front Loader Washer Not Spinning

carnau

Premium Member
Model Number
WF520ABP/XAA
Brand
Samsung
Hello Everyone,

As it says above I have a Samsung VRTplus Front Loader and it says motor failure. It goes into weight sensing and it use to rock back and forth. Now all you hear is a click every few seconds like the motor is locked up.

I am a GM Automotive tech and I have the capability and tools required to do this job I am sure. I just can't find any information on how to start the diagnostics.

Where should I start anyone?

Thank in advance for all the help. If anyone needs and car repairs maybe I can exchange some knowledge for knowledge. lol

Chris

Added model number

Last edited by a moderator:

carnau

Premium Member
Update.

So when I went back to it. I unplugged it from the wall and opened the front. Took out the cloths and plugged it back in. Drained it, then spun the tub with my hand. At first is seemed completely locked up. After it freed it up when I would spin it, it kept grabbing in certain spots. I plugged it back in and just did a Rinse cycle. When I did this it would spin a little then it would sound as if it were ratcheting. Like a gear popping. I removed it from the wall again, Took off the back and removed the Rotor. I don't see anything broken inside the Rotor or the Stator.

Any ideas?

carnau

Premium Member
Update.

Removed the Rotor and the Stator. After removing them, when I spin the drum, It still locks up in certain places. Maybe the bearing came loose on the drum? I think that's my next step. Going to look up how to remove the drum on a front loader.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
You'll need to post the model number of this washer, the model number tag is located inside the door.