• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED WFE505W0HS Whirlpool Freestanding ELECTRIC RANGE - Control panel is not responding at all

Miro2R

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Sunnyvale
Model Number
WFE505W0HS
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
I have problem with Whirlpool appliance. The control panel is acting strange.
The panel is not responding at all. If you turn the burner the control panel start responding but the top elements and oven are not heating at all
I have video if someone can help I can E-mail the video to them
 

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
3,072
Location
Canada
It sounds like there's a problem with power to the range or the wiring inside the range.

You can start by checking the fuses/breaker is the house panel. If 1 of the 2 have tripped, the elements will not heat as they operate on 240 volts. When turned on a backfeed could be making it to the control to power it up temporarily

If that isn't it, someone might need to confirm if the full 240 volts is getting to the range's wall outlet and also check for bad connections in the wiring inside the range.

Dan O.
 
Last edited:

Miro2R

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Sunnyvale
Hi Dan,
I did reset on all breakers and this didn't help
The panel is dark and when I turn the element knob the panel comes to life but no heat
Thanks
 

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
3,072
Location
Canada
Yes. As I said, the control could be getting a backfeed through the element when it is turned on.

I'd suggest someone first confirm proper power at the range's wall outlet.

Although about dryers, ranges use a similar wiring.

LINK > Dryer Power Outlet


A common place for the range's internal wiring to be damaged is right were the range cord connects to the range's internal wiring.

LINK > Damaged Main Terminal Block


Dan O.
 

Miro2R

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Sunnyvale
Hi Dan,
Thanks a lot! I will check the power outlet , and cable then open the back as you suggest and let you know if this fixes the problem
Thanks again'
 

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
3,072
Location
Canada
Be careful and do it safely. We'd like to hear the results. ;)





Dan O.
 

Miro2R

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Sunnyvale
Hi Dan,
The issue is as you advised. The technician who installed the range didn't tie the power cable enough which caused short and burned the cable.
I will order the new cable and terminal block and hope to get them soon.
Thanks a lot for the great advise
Thanks
Miro
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0964.JPG
    IMG_0964.JPG
    199 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_0967.JPG
    IMG_0967.JPG
    199.6 KB · Views: 30

Miro2R

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Sunnyvale
Yes, I ordered the terminal, the nut and the power cord and will replace on Tuesday when they arrive.
Hope this will be all :)
Thanks a lot for your help!
 
Top