• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED WFW8300SW01 Whirlpool Duet Sport Washer is error F-01definitely CCU?

BuckUKFL

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
7
Location
Clearwater, FL
Model Number
WFW8300SW01
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
6-10 years
Hi everyone

I have a WFW8300SW01Whirlpool Duet Sport front loading washer that we inherited when we bought the house.

In the last two weeks it's failing to complete any cycle and displays F-01 as the error code.

I've gone through the diagnostics and manual tests and that's the only error code in the history.

I replaced the drain pump as it looked pretty bad when I pulled it out to check it over, but that hasn't resolved the problem.

Interestingly, when I do the tests, it skips the high speed spin cycle after the drain pump runs for 4 minutes, 10 seconds.

Does this sound like a CCU issue. I'd really like not to spend $300 if it could possibly be anything else.

Thanks for any guidance anyone can offer.

Buck
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,795
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes Buck, F01 is always the CCU that is the problem.

Replace the CCU. Click on this link and you'll find a repair video that will show you how:
WPW10525351 Electronic Control Board


Let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

BuckUKFL

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
7
Location
Clearwater, FL
Yes Buck, F01 is always the CCU that is the problem.

Replace the CCU. Click on this link and you'll find a repair video that will show you how:
WPW10525351 Electronic Control Board


Let us know how it goes.

Jake
Hi Jake

Thanks for confirming.

I just ordered the CCU from your web store for overnight delivery.

Fingers crossed this sorts out the problem.

Thanks again.

Buck
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,795
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok Buck, sounds good, yes keep us posted.

Remember to unplug your washer from the wall outlet before replacing it.

Jake
 

BuckUKFL

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
7
Location
Clearwater, FL
Hi Jake

I got the new CCU installed yesterday afternoon and a diagnostic and normal wash cycle later and we’re back in business…

A note for your records might be that the new CCU won’t snap into place as the necks on the two circular plastic tabs that insert into the washer frame are too thick. The unit can’t lock into place because those necks don’t fit into the slots. I ended up using a sheet metal screw to secure the unit to the washer frame.

Thanks for your help and Happy Thanksgiving.

Buck
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,795
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Buck, glad to hear the new CCU fixed it.(y)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanks for the update!

A note for your records might be that the new CCU won’t snap into place as the necks on the two circular plastic tabs that insert into the washer frame are too thick. The unit can’t lock into place because those necks don’t fit into the slots. I ended up using a sheet metal screw to secure the unit to the washer frame.
My bad, I forgot to mention you might have to use the OLD backing plate for the NEW CCU, watch this video below:


Jake
 
Top