FIXED WFW8410SW00 Whirlpool duet sport error code F28

nfirman

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
4
Location
Phoenix, az
Model
WFW8410SW00
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
You guys are amazing! I repaired my fridge in a couple hours for free because of you're info on this site, the appliance repair guy wanted to replace parts that I didn't need to. THANK YOU!
Now, I hope I can find help on my Whirlpool Washer Model WFW8410SW00.
The f28 serial communication error is coming up. Do I need to take the machine apart to check if its a loose connection. thank for any help you can provide.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks, glad our site helped you fix your refrigerator.:)

Yes for the F28 error code:
First, check the wiring harness connections to the MCU, the Motor, and the CCU. Make sure all the connections are tight and there are no ground wires off. Then check the connections of the CCU board within the housing.

If the wiring connections are fine then It would be a good idea to order both, as both components have been problematic for the error code F28.

Here's the CCU for your model you can order:
Main Control Board W10679602


Here's the MCU for your model you can order:
Motor Control Board WPW10163007


Also remove the MCU board from its plastic casing, and look for burned/arc spots on it, we've had a few members report that. If you find yours does, just order the MCU.

If you find either the MCU or the CCU(Microcomputer Machine Control Unit) fixed it, you can return the one that you don't need for a full refund, less shipping.

Jake
 

nfirman

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
4
Location
Phoenix, az
Whirlpool duet sport diagrams?

I have the technician troubleshooting guide from the front panel that shows a wiring diagram, but do you know of any guides that have more step by step info for us beginner DIY's:eek:. I think I'll need a little more detail.
 

nfirman

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
4
Location
Phoenix, az
I fixed it. Now I feel like an idiot.
After spending lots of time trying to figure it all out, and looking for loose connections I realized there was a grounding switch on the front bottom corner.
I had the front panel off to clean out the drain. I was having a hard time getting the screws back in and I left them off. I asked my husband to put them back on (2 weeks ago) so the panel kept falling off each time it got bumped. I of coarse thought I had loosened something, cleaning it out and never noticed the stupid switch! I only had the error message some of the time (probably when the panel was on the ground) and never put 2 and 2 together.
Thanks for your help.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, glad you found out what the problem was.:)

Jake
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Messages
1
Location
Clarksburg, WV
Hello!

I had to make an account to say Thank You! Me and my wife had moved to a different household. The washer had to be moved 27 hefty steps down from the 2d floor of the building. Long story short - we had set up the washer in the new house and sure enough, code F 28 comes up... We panic, we think that we had shaken something loose and etc. Checked all the wires, checked the motor unit the cpu and disconnected and reconnected all the wiring - nothing. Then NFIRMAN's post was read and sure enough, the Front bottom panel was off - it got loose and was left off (no clue why). So, the grounding safety switch was not being engaged making the error code pop up. Put the panel back on (front and also the back one); both switches engaged and the ludicrous problem was solved. I too felt pretty idiotic not realizing this sooner, but live and learn.

Thank you guys for having the forum and helping us solve this stressful situation. :D

I fixed it. Now I feel like an idiot.
After spending lots of time trying to figure it all out, and looking for loose connections I realized there was a grounding switch on the front bottom corner.
I had the front panel off to clean out the drain. I was having a hard time getting the screws back in and I left them off. I asked my husband to put them back on (2 weeks ago) so the panel kept falling off each time it got bumped. I of coarse thought I had loosened something, cleaning it out and never noticed the stupid switch! I only had the error message some of the time (probably when the panel was on the ground) and never put 2 and 2 together.
Thanks for your help.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, good job on yours too!

Jake
 

Larry R

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1
Location
PR
Can you explain this grounding switch... Where's specifically located...Tks!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
You should have two grounding switches on the bottom base of the washer, one in the front, one in the back. Both you will see right away once you remove the front and rear access panels, when the panels are in place they make contact with the levers on the grounding switches.

Jake
 

Jordan B

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2016
Messages
1
Location
CO
You should have two grounding switches on the bottom base of the washer, one in the front, one in the back. Both you will see right away once you remove the front and rear access panels, when the panels are in place they make contact with the levers on the grounding switches.

Jake
I just moved my washer and although it worked fine for a couple of days, I'm now getting the F28 error code. I want to check out the two grounding switches on the front and back. Can you explain how to remove the front and rear panels please? Thank you for the help in advance!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Do you have the same model number washer? WFW8410SW00? The model number tag is located inside the door.

If so, To remove the lower access panel: You first remove the 3 bottom torx screws on the very front bottom of your washer next to the floor, then Remove the toe panel by lifting slightly and pulling forward.

Then for the back access panel you just pull the washer out from the wall, then you will see screws up and down both sides you have to remove.

Jake
 

BigE12653

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
1
Location
USA..MO
F28..Fixed!!! Ok..i just fixed a failed drain pump WPW10730972 on my Whirlpool Duet Sport Washer. I was trying to make sure the repair was good so i left the bottom panel off, Note..the bottom panel does press in a safety switch...put the bottom panel back on and then try the washer again. While the panel was off i got the F28 message, once i reinstalled the panel washer worked perfectly. Good luck!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,318
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Good Job BigE.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top