FIXED WFW9150WW02 Whirlpool Duet Washer Stops and Beeps

ubernub

Premium Member
Model Number
WFW9150WW02
Brand
Whirlpool
My Duet washer is going senile. This is rather sad for me as it's only a bit over three years old (we got it toward the end of 2011). I've got twin toddlers so it's imperative that I get this thing operational because the soiled laundry is piling up fast!

I'm a computer engineer, I figure I can handle troubleshooting a washing machine, so here we go...

The model number is WFW9150WW02. It looks like this:
Whirlpool | Appliances for the Home, Kitchen, and Laundry Room [WFW9150WW]-1001655/WFW9150WW/

It's a front loading Whirlpool Duet Washer 4.0 cu ft, with Tumblefresh (whatever that means). No matter what cycle I choose except for rinse and drain, it starts the cycle, locks the door, then a few seconds into the cycle after getting everything wet it stops washing and starts beeping (three beeps, pause, three beeps, pause, etc).

I tried unplugging it for half an hour then running it again, no change in behavior.
I made sure that the faucets coming from the wall are on all the way, no change in behavior.

I read the manual on the page linked above, and followed the directions to get the error code.

When it stops the wash status light flashes three times, pauses for half a second, then flashes two times, then pauses for two seconds. This apparently is error code F3E2, which means:

“F--E--” Variables (Washer Problem)
Press POWER to cancel the cycle. Select RINSE/DRAIN &
SPIN if there is excessive water in the washer.
Re-select cycle and press START/PAUSE. If the problem
remains, call for service.
Googling was a little more helpful. This error code means the the temperature sensor has lost its connection or faulty, or the control unit has lost its ability to read it.

My plan is to take this thing apart, disconnect and reconnect cables, and put it back together.

Where is the temperature sensor located?
Where is the control unit located?