WFW9200SQ00 Whirlpool Duet HT, F25 error code

Reua95

Model Number
WFW9200SQ00
Brand
Whirlpool
I started having an F25 error during random times in a wash cycle. It seems like load size affected it to begin with. Sometimes it will complete a wash cycle with no problems.

I found this forum and found a really good post regarding testing the motor and wiring to rule them out to tell if the MCU is bad.

I tested the motor first, the resistance on the 1-2, 1-3, and 2-3 were all 6.8 ohms. That’s a little higher than the reading it says you should get of 6 ohms,but they were all the same.

The reading for the tachometer (4-5) was 198, quite a bit higher than the reading stated as normal,115 ohms.

I am a novice at best when it comes to diagnose these type issues,but I assume the tachometer is bad based on the reading.

Could someone verify this is correct? Thanks in advance.

My second question is whether these motors are repairable. Based on my research it appears the answer is no.

Since the washer is 13 years old,I plan on purchasing a used motor, any thoughts on going this route?

I really don’t want to put $200 in the machine for a new motor.

Thanks, great website!

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi,

F25=DRIVE MOTOR TACHOMETER ERROR

If the control is unable to properly detect motor speed, the machine shuts down. If a failure occurs during high-speed spin, the door unlocks after 3 minutes.

Possible Causes/Procedure
1. Verify the shipping system including shipping bolts, spacers and the power cord are removed.
2. Unplug washer or disconnect power.
3. Check drive motor tachometer resistance. It should be approx. 115 Ω.
4. Check wire harness connections between the drive motor and the Motor Control Unit (MCU), and between the MCU and the Central Control Unit (CCU).
5. Plug in washer or reconnect power.
6. Check the MCU by looking for operations of the drive motor.
7. Check the drive motor for powered rotations