WFW94HEXW0 Whirlpool Duet Washer E01 F09

fitzhughshaw

Premium Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
5
Location
United States
Model
WFW94HEXW0
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
Hi,
I have a Whirlpool Duet washing machine, model number W10254472A, and I get a E01 F09 error during the wash cycle.
I ran diagnostic mode on it, and it got into C06, successfully filling to minimum water level before quitting (when I assume it was supposed to drain). I could hear the drain pump buzzing just slightly, so I thought it was a problem with the drain pump. I removed it, cleaned it out and ran a continuity test on it (passed) and an ohm reading (15 ohms, just as it's supposed to be).
So then I read some previous posts on the forum and decided to check the pressure switch, which also passed all of its tests.
Basically, I'm stumped, and my dirty clothes are piling up haha. I should note that all of my electrical tests are being done on the various components themselves, not through the connectors, so I wondered if it wasn't the cables and connectors (though this seems to me to be really unlikely).
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, thank you.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,353
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

fitzhughshaw

Premium Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
5
Location
United States
Thanks for your quick response!
That model number was from the technician's manual. The one from the user's manual is W10254423A. The manual also says W10254424 - SP, though I think that's the steam or sport model, which mine definitely is not (unless it's badged incorrectly and I've somehow never noticed the extra functions).
Anyway, I did all of the things you said, and everything checked out as far as I can tell. My guess is that it's the pressure switch, though it showed continuity in all of its tests. However, I'm not sure that overflow was a test I ran. I think the best I could do on the switch itself was test high pressure, unless that's the same as overflow.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,353
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I still need the model number before I can help you.

None of those numbers that start with W are it.

Open your washer door and you will see the model number tag.:)

Jake
 

fitzhughshaw

Premium Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
5
Location
United States
Oh I see! Sorry about that, and thanks for your patience.
The two numbers on the inside of the door are Mod: WFW94HEXW0, Ser: C03050054.
Thanks again.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,353
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks,

I'm attaching your tech. data sheet below.

F9E1:
LONG DRAIN: If the drain time exceeds 8 minutes without reaching reset level in pressure sensor, the valves are turned off and the drain pump will stop running. NOTE: Suds can cause delays in draining. Washer drains for 4 minutes, pauses 5 minutes, then tries again for 4 additional minutes of draining. F9E1 will display if washer does not drain. (Normal drain takes less than 2 minutes)

Possible Causes:
Verify that the drain hose is not blocked or kinked.
Make sure drain hose is not sealed into drain pipe.
Make sure the drain hose height does not exceed 96" (2.4 m).
Check/clean drain pump filter of foreign objects.
Check connections from tub to air trap, air trap to pressure hose, and pressure hose to pressure sensor.
See TEST #8 (Drain Pump) on page 19. Is pressure hose pinched, kinked, plugged, or leaking air?Is pressure hose pinched, kinked, plugged, or leaking air?Is pressure hose pinched, kinked, plugged, or leaking air?

Look at page 19 where it says TEST#8 Drain Pump. I know you said you ohm tested the drain pump and that's fine, but there are 2 other ohm tests and visual checks to do in TEST#8.

Step 12 in TEST#8 says if all the ohm test's and visual checks pass the problem is the CCU.

Here's the CCU for your model you can order:
W10427967 Cntrl-Elec


Keep us posted.

Jake
 

Attachments

fitzhughshaw

Premium Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
5
Location
United States
Thanks so much for your help.
So I ran the other two ohm tests. I didn't get a reading or any continuity across the lower connector, but I got the proper reading across the upper DP2 connector. I didn't get a reading on CCU. But here is where I'm confused. In the tech manual, the language is unclear to me whether or not I'm testing the CCU board or the DP2 connector, that is, the cable. Because honestly I was hoping it was a problem with the lower machine harness, not the CCU.
But if I'm getting the proper reading across the DP2 cable connector, and all of the drain mechanisms and cables are clear and clean, then it basically HAS to be the CCU, correct?
If I get a reply in the affirmative, I'll go ahead and order the CCU and replace it.
Thank you again!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,353
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yup, its the CCU you will need to order and replace.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,353
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yup, that's the correct pressure switch for your model.

WPW10304342 Switch-Wl


Also check your pressure switch hose to make sure it doesn't have a hole in it.

Here's your pressure switch hose: W10525781 Hose

Jake
 
Top