• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Whirlpool ACQ189XP0 17000 BTU Room Air Conditioner 230v went dead

Gramps74

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Saginaw mi
Model Number
ACQ189XP0
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
More than 10 years
Really hot humid weather several days in a row. Had it on fan save and when it kicked back on it just went completely dead. Took it apart some and found what looks like a main breaker popped right off of circuit board. Desoldered is what im inferring. I soldered it back on now digital display works but nothing else.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,686
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,686
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
What if i bypass relay
are you sure it's a relay and what's it for?

Could capacitor be bad?
C-HV-Capacitor Test.jpg
 

Gramps74

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Saginaw mi
So my understanding is that its a analog system with a digital interface. And digital voltage controls standard voltage via relays. 20210901_114157.jpg20210901_114215.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,686
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
And digital voltage controls standard voltage via relays.
I already know that. What does the relay in your picture control? I don't have a wire diagram for that model.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,686
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
This was all I could find:
 

Attachments

  • ACQ189XP0-wiring.pdf
    31.9 KB · Views: 18

Gramps74

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Saginaw mi
Yah not convinced that is accurate to 1 i have. L1 is there but not L2. Per se and test sequence is not exactly as shown on mine since i have mode button controlling order of some choices.
 

Gramps74

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Saginaw mi
Another question is there another capacitor somewhere? By the amount of connections on the 1 i see behind board im guessing no? And is are they run or start capcitors?
 

Gramps74

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Saginaw mi
Another thing i noticed on your diagram refering to L1 and a L2 wires described as smooth and ribbed? Does ribbed mean striped?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,686
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
is there another capacitor somewhere?
One for the compressor and one for the fan motor. Both are start caps. The way to tell is a start capacitor is connected inline with the start windings. A run cap is connected across the start windings and the run windings. A run cap isn't really necessary for the compressor to run correctly.

Does ribbed mean striped?
No. The wire casing actually has ribs on it you can feel.
 
Top