• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Whirlpool Duet Washer GHW9400PL4 error code FH - Jake, please help!

thrujenseyes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2022
Messages
3
Location
Tabernacle NJ
Model Number
GHW9400PL4
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
More than 10 years
Hi, sorry to call you out but I've been reading these posts for days and Jake you seem to be the Man!
Anyway, it's the Whirlpool Duet Washer GHW9400PL4 error code FH.
I did the diagnostic test (after disconnecting every hose and filter and wire and cleaning and plugging back in. Nothing was even slightly dirty...although I found a quarter).
And the code happens about a minute into C:01 every time.
According to the manual in the bottom of machine for the technician this can only be one of two things. 1. cold water inlet valve (it's not, it's perfect in every way, hose, filter, everything) or 2. the flowmeter.
I did take it apart to look it over and it's perfect. No build up, not at all dirty. I can blow thru it and it whistles. I don't know if there could be something wrong internally?!
I mean this machine is probably 17 years old but I can't even believe how pristine it is inside! This is the first time I've ever taken it apart to try and fix something.
I was thinking maybe the control panel is just going therefore I suppose I'd need a new machine because I read somewhere on here that they don't make them anymore?!
But would the code be this specific and always in the same spot in cycles and or in the diagnostic test if it were the panel?
I've been sooo determined to fix this myself. I love this damn washing machine and I don't want to get a new one.
I was married and spoiled when I got this and now I'm not and I'll have to get a cheap one that will make me sad. And I don't want to be sad.
Please help me!
Jen
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,703
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Hi Jen,

FH=No water detected entering machine or pressure switch trip not detected.

--->If after 30 seconds the control does not detect water entering machine, the valves will be turned off and the error code will be displayed. OR If the control has turned the water valves on and after 8 minutes the flow sensor has detected 10.5 gallons of water passing through it, but has not detected the pressure switch trip, the valves will be turned off and the error code will flash. Press PAUSE/CANCEL twice to clear the display.

--->If there is no water in the unit: — Make sure that both valves at the water source(s) are turned on all the way. — Check for plugged or kinked inlet hoses or plugged screens in the inlet valves. — Verify inlet valve operation.
---> If there is water in the unit: — Verify drain pump operation. — Verify that the pressure switch hose is in good condition and properly connected to tub and pressure switch.
1. Verify there is not a siphon problem.
2. Unplug washer or disconnect power.
3. Verify wire harness connections to inlet valves, pressure switch, drain pump, flow meter, and Central Control Unit (CCU).
4. Check all hoses for possible leaks.
5. Plug in washer or reconnect power.
6. Verify pressure switch operation.
7. Verify flow meter operation by blowing air through the part and measuring the resistance.
8. Verify CCU operation by running a Diagnostic test or any cycle.

It sounds like the flowmeter is the problem since it does not go past C:01. Do you have a good strong COLD water flow into the tub at C:01? If so, then it has to be the flowmeter.

Here's the flowmeter for your model you can order:
WPW10110225 Flowmeter


Video Included in the flowmeter part link to replace it.

If you DON'T have a good strong flow of COLD water coming into the machine, then turn off the water supply to the machine and remove the fill hoses and see if the water inlet valve screens are clogged with sediment.

Jake
 

thrujenseyes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2022
Messages
3
Location
Tabernacle NJ
Hi and thank you Jake!!!!!!
Yes, I have great water flow.
I did all the steps and this is what I'm coming down to.
I've read that the flowmeters rarely go bad (other than gunky corrosion and stuff) so I was unsure and I didn't want to spend the money for it if it's not that.
I read on one of these threads that I can purchase a part from your link and return if that's not the correct fix?!?
Is that right?!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,703
Location
Redmond, Oregon
I've read that the flowmeters rarely go bad (other than gunky corrosion and stuff) so I was unsure and I didn't want to spend the money for it if it's not that.
If the COLD water flow into the machine is good and strong, then it has to be the flowmeter.

Look at 2 pages worth that the flowmeter fixed it: https://www.applianceblog.com/mainforums/search/120273/?q=WPW10110225&o=relevance

I read on one of these threads that I can purchase a part from your link and return if that's not the correct fix?!?
That may be a old thread from years ago.

AppliancePartsPros and RepairClinic did let you try it and return it for a full refund if it didn't fix the problem, less shipping, but those days are gone for all part suppliers.

Jake
 

thrujenseyes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2022
Messages
3
Location
Tabernacle NJ
It was the Flowmeter!
It's all fixed!!!!!!

I'm so glad I found this forum because I didn't know about the diagnostic test...which led me to the fact that it was one of two things.
Since the FH code happened at C:01 every time it was telling me it was either the
1. Cold water inlet or 2. Flowmeter.
I knew it wasn't the cold water.

But I really didn't think it was the Flowmeter because everything I read and saw said that they can get gunked up and airflow will be restricted and or stopped but mine was perfect looking.
No build up, and when I blew thru it, all was well...or so I thought.
BUT what no one tells you (as a girl who knows nothing of these parts) is that the flowmeter has ballbearing inside that can go bad.
Everything I read and saw said that they can get gunked up and airflow will be restricted and or stopped but mine was perfect looking.

Then I came across a video of a guy that showed him blowing thru his and how the kazoo like sound should just trail off....NOT sound all crackly like his did.
I ran downstairs and tested. Crackle City!

I was soooo excited!!!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,703
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Excellent Jen, glad to hear the new flowmeter fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top