• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake
  • Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Whirlpool Gold GSC308PJB4 micro/oven combo "door" microwave error

Boldruler

Premium Member
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
14
Location
TX
Model Number
GSC308PJB4
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
More than 10 years
Hi,

I have a very old Whirlpool microwave/oven combo GSC308PJB4. The microwave won't turn on and displays DOOR. I have looked at some of the other threads and have located the service manuals. My question is should I look at switches or fuses first?

I'm pretty green at appliance repair but going to give it a try!

Thank you!!
~Marci
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,178
Location
Redmond, Oregon
The door switches.

Read this thread:

Your model uses those exact same door switches:
kitchenaid-switch-w10727408-ap5951461_01_m.jpg


Let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

Boldruler

Premium Member
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
14
Location
TX
I have to pull the unit out some to get to the switches, yes? I haven't been able to do that.

But now I'm getting a keypad not connected error. All the connections look fine so I'm stumped again

I think maybe I screwed up the ribbon trying to get the panel on and off.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,178
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Make sure you disconnect power to the microwave first!

This video should give you the general idea of how to do it:


Jake
 

Boldruler

Premium Member
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
14
Location
TX
Thank you for the help. I think it's toast. It is 20 years old and I believe the keypad ribbon got damaged when I took the control panel off. :(
Shopping for a new one now.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,178
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, Happy Shopping!

Jake
 

Boldruler

Premium Member
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
14
Location
TX
Oh my gosh, I am striking out. Supply chain issues I guess. Mine cannot be fixed, correct? I cannot just repair/replace the ribbon? I would have to replace the entire control board?

Thanks for any help. On the bright side, maybe I get out of cooking Thanksgiving dinner!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,178
Location
Redmond, Oregon
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top