• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake

FIXED Whirlpool Microwave G2 Error code, F7

cmccoy11

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
3
Location
SE MI
Model Number
GH6178XPS1
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
Thanks for taking the time to read my post, any direction is appreciated. Model GH6178XPS1 is returning an F7 error code. I'm about 30 days out of warranty, unfortunately. I unplugged the microwave, and plugged into a different outlet. Oven worked for a while but eventually threw up the same error code. Suggestions on a resolution to this issue? Thank you.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,940
Location
Ontario, Canada
I found something new on this.....but can't get the info into WLP corrects it's server problems....will post ASAP.

jeff.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,940
Location
Ontario, Canada
Yaaaaaaaa....they are working again :)

A copy:


Microwave will not operate (cook). F7 error code
appears on the display.
Electrical circuit interruption between L1 and Neutral in
the microwave inverter circuit.
Possible reasons:
1. Check door, hinge and cavity front alignment and adjust
as needed.
2. Check the operation of all interlock switches.
3. Check over temperature protector for the magnatron.
4. Check all Cavity Thermostats for closed circuit.
5. Unplug the oven for at least 40 seconds. If this solves
the problem
A. Check the Cooling Fan for proper operation or
blockage
B. Check the resistance of the magnetron thermostat.
It should be 0 Ohms, replace if necessary.
6. Check that the control cable to the 1100 watt inverter
is properly connected to plug P2 on the display PCB
& Adjust or Reconnect
7. If interlock switches operate correctly, replace 1100W
inverter.
8. If problem persists, replace control assembly.

jeff.​
 

cmccoy11

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
3
Location
SE MI
Thanks for the post, Jeff. Not sure how to go about performing all the steps to test out the error. Can you point me to further instructions on how to perform the tests necessary? I've noted what I've been able to perform, below. Thanks. :eek:

Possible reasons:
1. Check door, hinge and cavity front alignment and adjust
as needed. OK
2. Check the operation of all interlock switches.
3. Check over temperature protector for the magnatron.
4. Check all Cavity Thermostats for closed circuit.
5. Unplug the oven for at least 40 seconds. If this solves
the problem. Ok, failed again after a few uses.
A. Check the Cooling Fan for proper operation or
blockage. OK
B. Check the resistance of the magnetron thermostat.
It should be 0 Ohms, replace if necessary.
6. Check that the control cable to the 1100 watt inverter
is properly connected to plug P2 on the display PCB
& Adjust or Reconnect
7. If interlock switches operate correctly, replace 1100W
inverter.

 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,940
Location
Ontario, Canada
We don't have this micro up here with me, so I haven't seen one....what specifically where you looking for?

jeff.
 

cmccoy11

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
3
Location
SE MI
Well, I adjusted the door as it was about 1/16" off from left to right. Pulled top exhaust cover and filter then reinstalled. The error hasnt occurred since. Hope the bug stays away. Thanks for the advice, Jeff.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,940
Location
Ontario, Canada
Well, I adjusted the door as it was about 1/16" off from left to right. Pulled top exhaust cover and filter then reinstalled. The error hasnt occurred since. Hope the bug stays away.
Thankx for the update...that should help others :)

jeff.
 
Top