• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Whirlpool Range YWEE760H0DS0 - Oven Preheat taking forever to reach temp

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Model Number
YWEE760H0DS0
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
6-10 years
Whirlpool oven takes forever to reach temp. Just seemed to happen the other day. I hit bake and then set it to 350. There was a loud sound and then some smoke from the inside of the oven.

I checked diagnostics on the oven for any codes/faults and there were no faults. I did however try to bake something today and it took 26 minutes and only got to 215 degrees F.

what I suspect is that the bake element which is hidden is gone… am I correct and is this an easy diy fix?



Thanks a lot

the control board was also replaced a year ago if that makes a difference.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Check the bake element for continuity first:
whirlpool-elmnt-bake-w10779716-ap5970727_01_l.jpg
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
This would be under the hidden cover right? It’s just the 2 screws ? Is there a video on how to remove this?
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Ok took out the multimeter and tested for continuity. No audible beep and no reading on the multimeter. When I touch each end of the multimeter to each end of the element shown in picture 2, something should show up on the Meter right?
 

Attachments

  • AE80A8FC-F83B-4CDE-8D12-1B5E842F1CCC.jpeg
    AE80A8FC-F83B-4CDE-8D12-1B5E842F1CCC.jpeg
    400.1 KB · Views: 18
  • BB72C5C6-77E6-46A9-AD0F-81111580D1B5.jpeg
    BB72C5C6-77E6-46A9-AD0F-81111580D1B5.jpeg
    282.9 KB · Views: 16
  • A6C8EE87-6BCB-421D-9CF5-A8D55230CD72.jpeg
    A6C8EE87-6BCB-421D-9CF5-A8D55230CD72.jpeg
    365.4 KB · Views: 16

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Correct. The element is open (bad).

1. This should be easier if the oven door is removed.

2. Remove two mounting screws from the oven bottom/floor at the back corners of the oven.
Snapshot_2.jpg


3. Remove oven floor

4. Locate and remove 3 Bake element mounting screws
Snapshot_3.jpg


5. Pull bake element toward front of oven until electrical connections are visible through back wall of oven

6. Remove electrical connections (do not let wires slip out rear wall)
Snapshot_4.jpg


7. Pull element out
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Thanks Rick! Would you recommend using a non oem part for this? Only reason is where I live (Canada) it’s hard to get this oem one soon.
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Thanks. With the specific part #:

W10779716​

There appears to be a 2600w and a 3600w version. How do I know which is the right one?
 

Attachments

  • 4ED6D72F-A65E-4977-A770-0F212D0AA4F7.jpeg
    4ED6D72F-A65E-4977-A770-0F212D0AA4F7.jpeg
    339.7 KB · Views: 19

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
122,621
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
We go by your model number when we look up parts, trust me Rick and I posted the correct bake element for your model.:)

Jake
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I'm curious, where did you find the same part number for two parts? Your's is 3600W.
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
D77EA73B-67C6-474D-9F3C-79F9770D66B1.jpeg

Above is new. I think I know the answer but wanted to be 100%.
Below is old:
3C23D6A9-FAFA-4143-80A7-13E8C4641F57.jpeg


the new one doesn’t have the mounting screws (the horizontal bar) .

I think the new one should be ok as is without them as it has its own feet? Or should I attempt to remove the bracket ? Thanks all
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Ok new bake element installed. Same part number as above. Does a new bake element take longer to heat up? It took 12 minutes to get to 200F.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Check the voltage at the element. It should be 220 VAC. Sounds like it's only getting 120 VAC. There's a thin filament wire surrounded by a catalyst that runs through the center of the element and it's this filament wire that gets hot and causes the element to glow red. When an element goes out it's the filament wire that breaks inside the element. Sometimes when it breaks, it touches the outside of the element and that's a direct short to ground and causes the element to spark like a welders rod or 4th of July sparkler. It can cause the element to bubble and melt. It also draws a lot of current through the electronics and will take out the control board.
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
If it is only getting 120, how do I fix this? And also this would be the same procedure as testing for continuity as before? I checked the new one for continuity and it was fine.
What you described as the melting element is what I think happened to the old one, see pic below. Would anything else be the cause? Should I make sure rapid preheat is on?
When I tested the oven after replacing the bake element, I tested it using convection bake… would that take longer than normal bake to preheat?
Thanks for all the help Rick!
 

Attachments

  • 3B020BA3-7F0A-4B5B-B22F-B7161D00C045.jpeg
    3B020BA3-7F0A-4B5B-B22F-B7161D00C045.jpeg
    255.2 KB · Views: 12

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Access the main control board. All the connectors are marked on the board. Set the oven to Bake (about 350°). Set your meter to measure VAC and measure the voltage across P2-Pin 1 (black) and P15-Pin 1 (red/white). Then measure the voltage across P2-Pin 3 (red) and P15-Pin 1 (red/white). Both measurements should be 220 VAC.
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Thanks Rick. That’s way over my head as a novice. The control board was replaced last year so I don’t suspect anything there. Is there anything else that would contribute to this? Temp sensor? Terminal block?

set it to bake at 350 and it took 30 minutes to get to 295. Something is up. Also on my oven thermometer inside the oven, it showed 250. Could it be some temperature calibration?
 
Last edited:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
43,661
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
It doesn't matter if you replaced the board last year or last week. The board is the problem. Here's why; The bake element gets 240V AC to heat up so L1 (120V) goes to one side of the element and L2 (120V) goes to the other side of the element. (L1+L2=240) L1 goes thru the bake relay on the board and L2 goes thru the DLB relay on the board. Both relays are on the board. Replace the board and you're back in business. The part link is in my last post.
 

Jokerstone

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Canada
Argh! Well that sucks! Do people repair these? Probably better to buy a new range at this point if that’s the case.
 
Top