• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Whirlpool side by side Model WRS965CIAH00 makes ice but wont dispense

Status
Not open for further replies.

alwaysaffordableappliance

Premium Member
Model Number
WRS965CIAH00
Brand
Whirlpool
Hello I am an appliance service technician and I'm writing about an issue on a repair that I am having trouble with and have been unable to resolve and have not been able to locate a service manual for. The problem is on a Whirlpool side by side refrigerator model number WRS965CIAH00 serial HR23314029 that is still making ice and dropping ice into the bucket will not dispense or energize the auger motor. The customer previously replaced the switch and pad for ice as well as auger motor on the unit.

When the switch to dispense ice is pressed the dispenser door opens up as if to dispense ice but the auger motor never turns. I have tested the switch by checking for voltage at the auger motor and found none. Additionally I have swapped leads from the ice to water switch and tested that to rule out the switch itself entirely. I have also replaced the ice maker control board module, however this did not solve the problem either, the display on the new module appears to be working fine and the water dispenses however ice does not and the LED light which illuminates the area below the dispenser has begun strobing rapidly intermittently.

I believe this is due to the fact that the new module must be programmed by inputting the code on the model number sticker within the refrigerator. I have a service manual for an earlier model, however the buttons on the controls are not the same and no combination I have tried will put the control into programming mode. I need some help with this problem as soon as possible, as well as locating a service manual for this model and or repair solution and additional troubleshooting information. Thanks in advance.

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member