• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Whirlpool washer WFW94HEXW2 F6E1

SeanSean

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Messages
3
Location
Union City, ca
Model Number
WFW94HEXW2
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
6-10 years
I get the error code F6E1. When I ran the quick diagnostics test it locks the door and just sits at C00. C00 is supposed to lock and unlock and then lock the door but I only hear it lock the door. I ran Test#4 Door Lock System from the manual and the door lock coils are stated to be 50-74Ohms but when I measured them they were 165 Ohms.

Does this mean it's the lock assembly that needs replacement?

This puzzles me as it does lock. The C00 test says it should lock, unlock and then lock but I never hear it do that and it simply locks and stays at C00. I have yet to test the MCU unit.

Thanks.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,380
Location
Redmond, Oregon
I've seen this F6E1 error code many times on my service calls, 9 times out of 10 you will see a burnt spot on the MCU, that is the bad part. So I'd first disconnect power to the washer and remove the MCU from its plastic casing and look for burnt spots on both sides of it.

Here's the MCU for your model:
WPW10374126 Motor Control Board


On your model you access the MCU from the back of the washer, you have to pull the washer out from the wall, then unplug it, then remove the back access panel and you will see it on the bottom of the washer base.

Here's the video:


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

SeanSean

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Messages
3
Location
Union City, ca
I pulled the MCU, from the machine and noticed one of the chips is blown. The top blew off (part number LNK304GN) as you can from the two pictures. The second picture I placed the top part back on the chip showing a cracked line. Attached are the images of the board. It seems this must be the issue. I'm wondering if I can simply replace the chip?
 

Attachments

  • 20211018_222702.jpg
    20211018_222702.jpg
    330.9 KB · Views: 83
  • 20211018_223548.jpg
    20211018_223548.jpg
    321 KB · Views: 80

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,380
Location
Redmond, Oregon
As techs we have to replace the whole MCU board.

I don't know if just replacing the chips will solve the problem. I know replacing the entire MCU board will for sure.:)

Jake
 

SeanSean

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Messages
3
Location
Union City, ca
Thanks Jake. I will try to replace the chip and see how it turns out. If still issues, I will just order a new MCU board.

There is a resistor next to the burned chip. Do you know what that value should be? The numbers seem to be burned off and I can't make it out. I attached the image of the resistor in question.

Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • 20211020_134340.jpg
    20211020_134340.jpg
    377.2 KB · Views: 74

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
131,380
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Top