Whirlpool washer will not fill up, only fills half way; Model WTW58ESVW1

Geomagno

Premium Member
Model Number
WTW58ESVW1
Brand
Whirlpool
On the large load options (Super Wash, Heavy, and Regular), the tub only fills about 1/3 to 1/2 then starts to agitate. If I spin the Cycle Control Knob around again or push it in and out, it will fill the rest of the way.
Additional details: I wash in cold water; the water pressure is good; the water input hose screens are free of any sediment.
Not sure if this a problem with the Control Knob or with a water level indicator. Not sure where to start. I would appreciate some ideas and don't be afraid to be detailed! I have an exploded view diagram but I've never worked on washer before.
Thanks.

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Take the hose off the load sensing switch and blow through it to clear it. Also, make sure drain hose is up at least 42 inches from the finished floor and is discharging into an open stand pipe to prevent water from siphoning that can damaging the switch. If the problem persists you may need to replace the Load Sensing Switch:

Temperature switch W10248240 Order now for same day shipping. 365 day return policy. RepairClinic.com
Temperature-switch-W10248240-00668905.jpg

To access the switch, use a putty knife or something similar and push in under the front of each end cap to release the clips. Lift the console and fold back. After the hose has been replaced back on the switch, run the machine in a spin cycle for several minutes.

Last edited:

Geomagno

Premium Member
Thanks for the tips rickgburton
Drain hose looks good; hose on load sensing switch is clear; did a voltage check for the Temp switch from a Youtube video and the voltages check out.
Can the load sensing switch within the Temp Switch be fixed? If it needs replaced I'd rather try to fix it if it comes apart.
Maybe you've repaired one of these?