FIXED Whirlpool WFC7500VW2 No display, No power No start up

springwood

Premium Member
Model Number
WFC7500VW2
Brand
Whirlpool
2015 Whirlpool WFC7500VW2 no display, no start up, no power

Many thanks for the volumes of information here. I've searched the threads but want to be sure of a couple things before ordering parts. The WFC7500VW0 service manual has been downloaded, an extra special thanks to a Mr.Jake..

I have some limited knowledge of the workings of multi-meter so before checking every component I thought, for better or worse, I'd mention that I've traced power from the wall outlet (120) to the CCU using an AC sensor pen which measures 50-1000 volts (Ultimate Sensor AC3000). Power has been found all the way down to the motor control unit.

With all this power going around I'm still not getting any displays, lights, bells or whistles. The washer acts dead as a doornail.

The CCU Cycle Select Dial is sending power all over the place when it's turned to any setting. When off, the power stays at the dial connection.

The manual details all of the checks regarding the CCU and component readings but no mention of testing regarding the MCU ??

thanks for any info

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Those AC pens don't work very well for appliance repair. Most major components are operated by breaking the neutral side. There's no way of getting an accurate measurement. If the outlet was bad and only supplying 75V - 80V, you wouldn't be able to tell. Check for 120 VAC across P13-1 and P13-3 on the motor control.

springwood

Premium Member
thanks rick

Would those be on the wiring diagram? I'm looking at the diagram from that L-83 2008 service manual of wcf7500vwo, the closest thing found relating to my model, and I'm not seeing either of those. I'll check the real thing later tomorrow..