• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake

FIXED Whirlpool WOC54EC0AS00 F1E5 error code

Matt47FL

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
4
Location
SC
Model Number
WOC54EC0AS00
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
6-10 years
Hi,

New to the forum and I have an issue with my whirlpool microwave/oven combo. If the microwave starts it will run for 10-15 seconds and then cut off with the F1E5 error code and also the turn table will spin for 2 seconds and the timer will count down for 2 seconds and stop. I have already replaced the main control board and that did not fix the problem. I tried that first based on a thread I read on another forum where someone was getting the same F1E5 code on the same appliance. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Matt


The board I replaced was part number WPW10486188
 

bigbuck

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
1,262
Location
From Planet Mars
Here is your tech sheet that may help! F1E5 error code Microwave Oven Inverter Error
SUGGESTED CORRECTIVE ACTION PROCEDURE
NOTE: Cycle power (unplug oven or disconnect power, then wait 10 seconds before powering On) before starting any test. After powering on, wait 1 minute then verify that the failure appears again.Page 4!
 

Attachments

Matt47FL

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
4
Location
SC
Thanks for that, based on that I need to order an invertor and replace that next. I have already replaced the appliance manager and the all of the connections are good. Going to order that and hopefully that will fix it.

Matt
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,713
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

Matt47FL

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
4
Location
SC
I replaced the inverter tonight and still getting the F1E5 code, however the microwave runs for 6 seconds instead of 2 before the code is thrown. I have a few questions, I purchased the appliance manager board and the inverter from a site that accepts returns for any reason so is it safe to say that I can install the original appliance manager board and inverter and return the replacements that I bought or is there a chance that I have multiple issues? According to the tech sheet next step is to replace the magnetron. I guess I will go ahead and order that tonight......
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,713
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok Matt,

Here's the magnetron for your model:
W11098747 Magnetron


When you click the part link you will see it fixed others F1E5 too, so I believe once you replace the magnetron you'll be back in business.:)

Is there a time limit to return the other parts? I know with AppliancePartsPros and RepairClinic they give you 365 days to return any part.

Jake
 

Matt47FL

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
4
Location
SC
I got the magnetron in today and installed it tonight. I knew this was going to fix it as soon as I removed the original one, it was burned on the tip where it heats. Installed the new one, removed the new board and inverter I had installed recently and everything works perfectly. Thanks to those that helped with this, glad to have my microwave working again!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,713
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Matt, glad the new magnetron fixed it.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top