• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

Jake

WMH31017FS0 Whirlpool Microwave/Vent Combo E17 LED

NAndreotti

Premium Member
Model Number
WMH31017FS0
Brand
Whirlpool
Hey Guys, Im A tech for a national multifamily company. One of my buildings we have whirlpool microwave range hood combo units. Im getting sick of replacing the hood lights. Ive been looking into LED replacements but for some reason these vent hoods have a constant voltage to the lamp that is increased when you turn on the light. This causes any LED bulb i put in there to be always on. My question for you guys is do you know what type of LED spec i should look for so that the bulb wont always stay lit? I hope this makes sense. Thanks !

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
NAndreotti said:
these vent hoods have a constant voltage to the lamp that is increased when you turn on the light.
That doesn’t sound right. The hood light is 120 VAC. Line 1 is connected to one side. The Neutral side is controlled by two hood light relays on the board with a diode between them. It sounds like there’s a shorted relay on the board that’s causing a constant low feedback voltage at the light. That’s why you’re going through a lot of bulbs and why the LED stays on

NAndreotti

Premium Member