WRF5353MBM00 Whirlpool Fridge Not cooling / Not Freezing

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
Model Number
WRF5353MBM00
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
Was working at previous home. unplugged it, put it on the trailer, let it sit in the garage for a couple of days, after a couple of days I plugged it up and NOTHING. the lights turn on inside and I can hear the sound of the fans in both the fridge and the freezer but neither is cooling. Any help would bee appreciated. Where is tech sheet located? is there any other post that I can review to test. I currently have it plugged in for about 6 hours now... not certain if its doing any damage by keeping it on without it working...
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
See if the compressor is running. If it's not running check for 120 VAC across the two wires on the start device. If the voltage is correct replace the start device:
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
opened up the back and noticed the compressor was super hot to the touch... I unplugged the unit, and connected the red lead to the blue wire and the black lead to the white wire on the start device... I plugged the unit in, the fan turned on and the test revealed about 118 volts then I heard a click and it jumped to 122.
44064
 

Attachments

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
Shook the start device to hear or feel loose or broken and I could hear some rattling back and forth inside...
44065
44066
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
Using digital multimeter with setting on ohms I checked the compressor and results are in the picture. I was told that if the compressor was new it would show 10 ohms, 6 ohms, and 4 ohms respectively... My test with showed .015, .008, and .006 respectively.
44067
44068
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
OK, you're on the wrong meter setting. Turn it one click counterclockwise so you're on the diode check function. Then check the compressor windings again:
44071


Here's how to check the start device:
44072
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
ok Thanks for that!

Compressor Windings with setting on diode (Common, Start, & Run)

Start to Run = .011
Common to Start = .006
Common to Run = .004
44087
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
Same setting
44095

Tested Start Device for continuity from wire terminal in front to the hole in back and result was 0
Tested the relay by measuring the resistance across the run and start terminals and result was a 1.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Juliado said:
Tested the relay by measuring the resistance across the run and start terminals and result was a 1.
Replace the start device. The link is in post #2.
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
Thanks Rick, Is it the start device and the relay together as one or just the start device without the relay.
 

Juliado

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
22
Location
75137
My concern is that The relay test in post #5 shows result = 1

doesn't that mean its bad?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
That's the run capacitor my friend. The run capacitor is not necessary for the compressor to run properly. They don't fail very often so yours is probably fine. Just plug it back into the new start device. To check a capacitor set your meter on the 2KΩ function and touch the meter probes to the two terminals on the capacitor. Your meter should show several thousand ohms then fall back to infinity or 1 (open). Now, not many "cheap" meters have the ability to check capacitors. I don't think your meter can check it. A start device is relay and overload stuffed into a plastic case.
44102
 
Top