• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED WRF555SDFZ05 Whirlpool Refrigerator - LED lighting help

dca

Premium Member
Model Number
WRF555SDFZ05
Brand
Whirlpool
I am getting a dim, flickering, intermittent RC light. I read some parts here on older threads and other forums. I wanted to check the voltage supplied first to see if it is a power supply issue. I am getting a reading of 66VAC. This didn't sound right to me.

Thanks to another thread here, I found where my Tech sheet with schematic was hidden in the top right hinge cover. It shows 24V (350mA CC) coming from the control board at P10, to the LED module (string of 8 series LEDs). I'm guessing this should be DC volts. So, it seems like something is wrong with the supply. Problem is that this model does not have a separate LED power supply board, it looks like it's all on one integrated board that costs ~$300 for replacement.

I am an electrical engineer and so I could try to diagnose and repair the board, but before I do that, I'm wondering if you guys can confirm or dispute any of this.

It's a hell of a lot of trouble just for LED lights. I'm betting many people but the $50 LED module and are disappointed when it doesn't fix the problem. They shouldn't have to typically be replaced for the life of the fridge, unlike incandescent lights.

One more thought: The schematic shows another VCC and GND connection at P10-4 & 5 (vs. P10-1&2). Wondering if I might be able to re-terminate the wires at the plug to use what appears to be a possible second supply, but it may be the same feed. I might have to prove around to see.

Please advise.

Thanks -- DCA

Added complete model number

Attachments

• IMG_20200507_205946497.jpg
    IMG_20200507_205946497.jpg
    298.3 KB · Views: 654
  • IMG_20200507_205927118.jpg
    IMG_20200507_205927118.jpg
    362.5 KB · Views: 379
Last edited by a moderator:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi,